Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 02:18 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default sata controller

will soon need more sata ports than available on my motherboard. i used to use a promise controller. now i see "sata raid" cards. i dont want raid, at all. basically just a card that i can hook extra drives up to.

some of the "sata raid" cards are a ridiculous price too. something reliable but n the lower end of the price scale.

thx for any info

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 02:25 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Dell PERC 5/i
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 02:42 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I'm guessing something like these would be sufficient if you just want more ports without RAID:
Newegg.ca - HighPoint Rocket 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card (4 SATA)
Newegg.ca - HighPoint RocketRAID 2680 SGL PCI-Express x4 Low Profile SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card (8 SATA via 2 miniSAS cables)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2012, 10:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

so even though both of those advertise their raid capabilities, i can use them as extra sata ports for my motherboard and not use the raid at all?

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2012, 01:55 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

so the 'JBOD' specification for RAID cards isn't necessary?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2012, 10:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
so even though both of those advertise their raid capabilities, i can use them as extra sata ports for my motherboard and not use the raid at all?
By default they'll just show as single drives. Only becomes RAID if you setup an array.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
so the 'JBOD' specification for RAID cards isn't necessary?
No, unless you want to group all your drives into a massive chunk of space. No point of doing this at the card level anyways since you can do it within Windows (dynamic disks).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2012, 11:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

oh....apparently i totally misunderstood what JBOD meant. I always thought JBOD was equivalent to plugging into the motherboard; each drive gets its own letter, partitions notwithstanding.

so i JBOD a bunch of disks, it'll appear as a single huge drive and when i write to it, the data gets randomly stored to one of the disks?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 12:51 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
so i JBOD a bunch of disks, it'll appear as a single huge drive and when i write to it, the data gets randomly stored to one of the disks?
Correct. So let's say you have 4x 1TB drives in JBOD. It would show as a single 4TB drive in Windows. You have no idea where your data resides.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 01:15 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

JBOD (just a bunch of disks) is exactly that - each disk is independent. There is no collective property or dependence. Each behaves as a separate drive and no special software is required.


For example in JBOD mode, disk1, disk2, disk3 disk4 are seen as E:, F: G:, H:



Where all the physical disks are concatenated into a single "disk", is properly known as disk spanning (sometimes a BIG disk) but is not JBOD. This needs to be implemented in either controller firmware or OS software or a combination of both.


For example in SPAN mode disk1, disk2, disk3, disk4 are seen as one large E:
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 07:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Hmm I've always been under the impression that when a RAID controller says it has JBOD it means that it combines all the drives into a single volume.

Even a quick Google yields both explanations from varying sites. Definitely some misinformation going on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sata III controller card Pabz0r545 Storage 6 June 18, 2012 02:13 PM
IBM M1015 sata controller kosmic Storage 0 December 29, 2011 08:53 PM
SATA Controller LC0g Troubleshooting 13 June 7, 2009 05:19 PM
windows home server and sata controller......... rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 20, 2009 10:58 AM
SATA-3G HDD with Marvell controller!!! francois methot Storage 2 August 23, 2007 01:16 PM