Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 01:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bucktown
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default Raid SATA III to SATA II - Effects?

Hello, I have question about my RAID, I have 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Blacks SATA III connected together in RAID as one big hard disk. I think about 1x Corsair Force Series GT 240gb connected to SATA III. On my motherboard I have only 2x SATA III ports so my question is: If I plug these 2 WD Caviars into SATA II ports does it will change automatically and will works or I have to delete RAID and build new one on SATA II ports?

I really don't want to lost my data somehow.
My motherboard is Asus Rampage III Formula.

Also I wish to know what is the difference between Corsair Force series GT 240gb and Corsair Neutron Series GTX 240gb? It will big difference in performance If I using my computer for music composing and games?

many thanks for any answers.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 05:08 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I think that you may run into some problems if you move the raided HDD'd to the sata 2 ports. I don't think that you would lose your data if you tried to do it, just don't reformat or change the array. Just see if it boots. Do a backup of the important stuff though first.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 01:34 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

Getting a SSD 240gig SATA III will show a big inprovement on boot times and shut downs.I would just put the new SSD 240gig in and put windows on it and plug them in on your SATA II ,You want lose anything ,But you will have stuff on that raid you don't really need .I always find it better just to do a clean install.I you have a old drive laying around and it is big enough to hold all the files you want to keep then I would just copy the files I wanted to the old drive and once you have done a clean install then just copy your files bad to you raid drive.If you have games then you want to install the big game files to your raid drive anyway and just use your boot drive as a short cut to get to them.Because more then likely you will need to reinstall them anyway for them to work right.I have a 256gig crucial SATAIII and two 1 TB samsung SATA II and one 3TB seagate SATA III because I got it at such a great price.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 01:19 AM
[WTT] Toronto: 2 sata data and 1 sata power cable 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 11, 2010 10:09 AM
IDE / SATA / AHCI / RAID mchutch Troubleshooting 6 April 20, 2010 12:50 PM
[FS] WTT/WTS DVD's for cash/sata optical drive/sata hdd's/ Geforce 9800 or better The MAX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 16, 2009 05:22 PM
Problem with SATA Raid kickz28 Storage 2 October 3, 2008 06:22 PM