Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 11, 2012, 02:30 PM
Rookie

Default Setting up a SSD

I'm new at this so ..... I am setting up a 256G ssd and I want to copy paste some of my material from my former C drive hhd . Can I do that with windows still installed on the HHD ? I will then format it. My OS will be on the ssd which will be my new c drive. I hope this makes sence . My concern is when booting up the machine will not know which to boot from. I know it's supposed to boot from c but I am not sure.

Thanks for listening, pcmike
Old December 11, 2012, 05:10 PM
MVP

My System Specs

When installing an operating system to a new hard drive, it's advisable to disconnect any other drives from the system -- this ensures the correct drive is selected, by virtue of being the only choice.

Once you've got the new drive's OS up and running you should have no issues reconnecting the older hard drive and then copying material from it. There are two caveats to that, however. The first is to ensure you're booting off the correct hard drive; this is determined by your BIOS settings. The second is to ensure the material you want to copy isn't in a protected folder under the old OS. If it's just a few files, I find it most convenient to boot up the old hard drive's OS and copy the files into an unprotected folder on the new drive.
Old December 22, 2012, 12:41 PM
MVP

My System Specs

Yes you can do that just make sure in you Bios that you have the SSD drive as you first drive and when installing windows make sure you are installing it on you SSD dive ,then when it gets though installing ,just copy the files you want on your SSD drive from you other drive.Then on you old drive just go to properties and formatt and then you will have a clean drive to install on.