Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 03:09 PM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 514
Default ST3000DM001-1CH166, few ???.

Here's the mobo 870-G45 (MS-7599) Win7 64.

What I did was initialise the drive GPT then made one simple partition 2.72TB and formated.

It's strictly a storage drive, can I fill it up and will win7 still be able to access the full 2.72TB or will it cut off at 2.19TB?

Under My Computer the full 2.72 is there but HD Tune only reads 2.19, I just want to make sure it's set up right?

Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 10 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/R7 265 1GB that doesn't like the 790x-UD4 mobo at all/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 10 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 03:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,282

My System Specs


Should be able to fill it to the max. I suspect HD Tune either doesn't recognize GPT or doesn't support >2TB.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes