Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:11 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default Intel 320 and X-25 G2 together in Raid 0?

As the title suggests, I am thinking of attempting to configure these mismatched drives in Raid 0 on the Z77 chipset. I know they are not the same drive, but I was curious to see if they would work together. The array would be used as a steam directory with the application and games on it so I won't be worried if I lose it.

The speed of the X-25 is 250 read, 70 write & the 320 is 250 read, 90 write. Both drives are sata II.

I guess I'd have to switch the sata controller to RAID in BIOS. I can't recall if that would affect my OS on vertex 3 (AHCI) requiring a reinstall of windows?

Thoughts? Concerns?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:14 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,812

My System Specs

Default

Switching from RAID to ACHI does matter. But if you are not booting from these drives just do a software RAID from within Disk Management. It will honestly perform better anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:19 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Switching from RAID to ACHI does matter. But if you are not booting from these drives just do a software RAID from within Disk Management. It will honestly perform better anyways.
thanks. I'll give that a try.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 11:47 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

well the raid array is up and there doesn't seem to be any issues thus far. Ran crystal disk mark and speeds were about double, which is what I expected. So far so good.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 01:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 405
Default

Don't forget to use Intel's SSD toolbox + RST for TRIM support. Or your array is gonna suck balls down the road.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 03:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,812

My System Specs

Default

Since his is just a software RAID his TRIM works perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 10:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 405
Default

Oh right, my bad. Not using SSDs as your boot drive is a rare sight for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2012, 08:13 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Since his is just a software RAID his TRIM works perfectly fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMan View Post
Oh right, my bad. Not using SSDs as your boot drive is a rare sight for me.
I actually just ran a test to verify that TRIM was working as it should and it is. I installed the latest 11.x RST drivers and ran this test.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung 830 Raid 0 OR Intel 520 Raid 0 Tainger Storage 1 July 2, 2012 06:33 AM
Marvell and Intel Raid conflict Dazmode Troubleshooting 4 January 29, 2012 09:02 PM
Migrating Intel RAID JD Storage 7 March 26, 2011 09:25 PM
SSD RAID support from Intel N.V.M. Storage 8 August 22, 2010 03:05 AM
Intel Raid driver with TRIM; anybody try this yet? chrisk Storage 10 March 21, 2010 12:04 PM