Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 07:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJR View Post
One last question and I think I'm all set. If I go the route you suggested (simply installing windows, then linux, and using the installers to partition, will one or both of those installers give me the option to add a Swap partition? I'm guessing yes, since you suggested to go that way, but I thought I'd ask.
Correct
Install Windows on the SSD, and keep however much space for Linux free. When you install Linux, you can just tell the installer to do "auto" partitioning with the free space. Every Linux installer worth something (including Mint's with 90% confidence) will put a swap partition when you select the "auto" option.
Note I don't use auto partitioners when I install Linux because I find it makes the swap partition too big, especially on an SSD. The auto installer will probably make a partition bigger than your RAM, which in your case will be >8GB!

When I did a Linux + Windows dual-boot in exactly the configuration you talked about, I had this layout:

SSD:
(Primary) 100MB Windows System Reserved
(Primary) ~78GB Windows C:\
(Primary) 768MB /boot
(Logical) remainder of SSD /

HDD (in LVM):
2GB swap
40GB /home

Note I out my swap and /home on the HDD because I didn't want to waste SSD space on a swap file that never got used (I don't do anything heavy enough to force Linux to overflow 8GB of RAM). Also when I was dual-booting I had a pile of lossless compression music that would've packed my SSD. Now I got bored of that music and archived it, so if I were installing Linux again it would all fit comfortably on the SSD
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 08:09 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

The whole 1.5x ram for swap is utterly a waste of space. I've always dedicated a minimum of 500mb of swap even when I was running 2gb of ram and never had a single issue.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2012, 08:51 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks for the pointers frontier. I may skip the auto partition for the reasons you mentioned, and hope I don't screw anything up too bad! :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP Dual Boot modification broiyan Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 22 December 15, 2010 11:58 PM
Win 7, XP Dual boot miggs78 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 23, 2009 09:46 PM
[WTB] Dual Core Laptop, 1GB RAM (or more), 120GB HD trayton Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 4, 2009 06:24 PM
Dual boot Xp Pro 32/64 on New Rig WIP misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 23, 2008 08:05 PM
dual boot how to ? Jim Storage 18 August 11, 2007 05:45 PM