Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2008, 05:39 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default HDD Config

Hey, Just ordering up the last to my system and had a couple changes.

I was going to order two disks, a WD250gb and a WD500gb, put os etc on 250 and games on 500.

My question is; ignoring price: Should I three 250gb and raid two of them. If I were to do this would it be best to run my OS on the raid array or my games?

Also; what about the 80gb Wester Digitals? 8meg cache only but would two of these suffice for an OS array.. if the better option is to run games on the array I will ignore this last question hehehe Thanks!

Any other brands you guys would suggest to make this config work? I'd prefer not to have TOO high of a GB on my OS drive of course!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2008, 05:54 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, BUMP! I had left this alone but decided to revisit - can anyone offer some insight?



Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2008, 05:57 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I find that even a 150gb partition for me is not big enough for an OS and games. You should get 3 x 250gb drives, and create a RAID 5. Speed, and redundancy, plus a total of 500GB. You can then just partition the array. Make 150 OS and the rest games and stuff
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 06:24 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I figured something along those lines, now I may not understand the finer details of RAID as well as you. I planned to order three 250gb, one for the OS with a partition and then the last two 250's RAID 0 for games and performance.

Your saying to raid them all three together? That will give better performance but then won't I be using everything on the same array?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 07:53 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Well, if any one of those hd's in the RAID0 fail, you lose everything on those 2 drives. If the single OS drive fails, same thing, you lose everything on it. If you make all drives on a RAID 5, if any one of those drives fail, you still have all the data, and you just replace the dead drive. You also get a little speed increase too. If you are really anal, get 3 drives in RAID5 for your storage and games, and then 2 drives in RAID 1 for your OS. Gets kinda expensive, but at least you dont lose any data
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 08:15 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Awesome! Thanks A LOT! :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2008, 11:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

raid is definatly worth the trouble, not so sure about just a dual drive raid, i had a dual drive raid array for years and truly couldnt notice any performance difference to my other computers. I just installed a 6 drive raid array and can definatly notice the difference. the read times on my computer went from 56 mb/s to 146 mb/s. If you ever wondered why the mom's 800mhz POS computer boots every bit as fast as your 3.6 ghz quad core super computer is because the hard drives havnt changed. I'm very surprized at how much faster my computer is, from booting to loading programs to installing programs... everything is ALOT (as in VERY alot) more snappy.

If i could offer a suggestion, go with the smaller drives (160 gig costs only a few dollars more than the 80 gigs so go with the 160 gigs) 4 drives will give you about 114 mb/s read times + 2 drives for a mirror (if your board will support 6 sata ports) 160 x 4 = 640 gb, too much for your OS drive? your os considers a raid drive no different than a regular drive so just partition off 150 - 200 gigs or whatever you prefur, then you'll have a storage drive and an os drive with a 4 drive array (not sure how this will effect mirroring however)

got a few random drives wandering around your house? Contrary to proper procedures you DONT need all identical drives in your array however your entire array will naturally be limited by the weakest drive. I currently have 2 wd 7200rpm 160 gig drives, 2 maxtor 120 gig 5400rpm drives and 2 160 gig 7200rpm seagate drives on my array acting as a single drive (i'm not mirroring, i like to live on the edge ;) ). the array is limited to 120 gigs and 5400rpm on all drives because of the maxtors, but they all work. I did have some trouble getting them all together, but just changing the position of the drive on the mobo solved the problem ( ie change the offending drives position from sata port 1 to sata port 2 or 3 or 4... untill it works)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2008, 09:55 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys, I'm working out the details now for which drives/what size/how many etc I'll use. I did an array once before with just two Hitachi's and I actually found it slower than running them separate and having my os and games on dif disks, it was very noticeable.

I'm thinking of using 4 250gb's and just having a single 500gb on the side for my music and movies etc
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2008, 11:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

I would always encourage anyone to keep saved data on a seperate drive (external is best) but as for your games, if you run a 4x 250 your not going to notice any performance gains by keeping the games on a different drive from your OS. All games are optimized to run on a single drive so if you have a drive that is giving you 3x the performance already, having the os running on the same drive isnt going to give you a noticable slow down (if any even) Though i would encourage partitioning the raid drive to give you a fast drive for putting files that get deleted alot to reduce fragmentation of your os drive.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2008, 11:52 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Sounds good! Thanks again.. I think finally I've sorted out everything and I'll order my system next week!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes