Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 11:49 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default Anyone ever used a backplane

Anyone ever used a backplane like this one to allow you to hot swap hard drives on your machine without opening the case?

Newegg.com - AMS DS-236TL 3.5" Tray-less 3-IN-2 SATA Backplane Module

Any issues? Is it as easy as it looks, plug up the SATA cables and give it power?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 11:55 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

In order to be able to "Hot-Swap" drives safely, make sure your S-ATA ports support AHCI and that it is enabled. Some BIOSes allow you to disable/enable the Hot-Swap feature of AHCI as well, so ensure that its enabled if you want to use that capablity.

Other than that, should work fine.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 12:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,120

My System Specs

Default

I haven't used that brand before but I've used hot swag cages a plenty. In all honestly once you go w/ one, it is hard to go back to a system w/o them. Especially the trayless versions like above.

Be careful w/ the drive locks on the one above. I've ones w/ a similar plastic lock, they ended up breaking if you used the lock a lot. I'd suggest leaving them in the unlocked position all the time. Otherwise the one you posted seems to be a good looking unit. I love the fact that it is entire black, most are not.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 12:31 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

I use a 4 bay 2.5" HDD hot swap in a 5.25". Its clean and allows me to knock out the HDD cages they put in the front of cases that kill air flow. I have a home server so I don't need my case to fit 8-12 HDDs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 01:19 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

I've tried using them in a no-server hardware environment (Windows home server on an Asus 775 board). They work well except for the hot plug feature which usually causes a BSOD. I just power off and removed the drive which is super easy and works very well.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 01:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2012, 02:46 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

Startech 5 Drive 3.5IN Removable SAS SATA Mobile Rack Backplane

That's the one I use for my dev platform, since it's caseless. Connected tp a Perc 5i with 4 Raptors in it, no problem.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 05:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Exclamation New Issue with backplane

So I got a backplane for my hard drives and the motherboard doesn't really have enough SATA III connections on it. Is there some kind of PCI board that will work that will allow you to have SATA III through it? Is it just as effective? Looking at the motherboard there are 2 SATA III connections and 4 sata II connections.

Secondary question is if you have 2 optical drives I guess it would be more important to have the hard drives hooked to SATA III than the optical drives. So optical drives to SATA II? Sheesh. so many questions for what seemed like a simple task.

maybe in order of priority SSD / HDD / Optical drives to parcel out the connectors?

Or maybe I need another motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 06:49 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Startech 5 Drive 3.5IN Removable SAS SATA Mobile Rack Backplane

That's the one I use for my dev platform, since it's caseless. Connected tp a Perc 5i with 4 Raptors in it, no problem.
I like that one
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 07:37 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

they work very very well.. I have a 4 drive (3 bay high) unit myself. I'll never go without one ever again.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5'' to 3.5'' Tray, Hot-Swap Backplane CMetaphor Storage 13 January 30, 2013 09:32 AM