Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Storage (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/)
-   -   SLOW transfer rate and an error on 1 TB green (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/56761-slow-transfer-rate-error-1-tb-green.html)

Your_friendly_gamer September 16, 2012 11:13 PM

SLOW transfer rate and an error on 1 TB green

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all,

I just traded some ram for this 1 TB green drive. I had backed up all my data over to an external drive and wanted to put this green drive in another build but wanted to test it. Anyways, it took over 6 hours to transfer about 190gb of data from my external to the green drive. I have owned a couple of green drives before but it never took this long. Anyways I downloaded WD software to find out issues and getting this particular error message, what exactly does it mean? I am not very good with hard drives to be frank and wanted to find out if this can be fixed? I had formatted the drive before using it. Any feedback would be great.

Dzzope September 17, 2012 12:48 AM

Re-partition and try again.

frontier204 September 17, 2012 05:27 AM

If Reallocated Sector count fails in the SMART stats you can (and should) RMA the drive. As with most of the "PRE-FAIL" S.M.A.R.T. attributes, the failure means your drive is expected to be completely dead in 24 hours.

LarkStarr September 17, 2012 08:52 AM

118 remapped sectors? Time to RMA dat drive. Hope you got the appropriate paperwork to do so.

Your_friendly_gamer September 17, 2012 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frontier204 (Post 656023)
If Reallocated Sector count fails in the SMART stats you can (and should) RMA the drive. As with most of the "PRE-FAIL" S.M.A.R.T. attributes, the failure means your drive is expected to be completely dead in 24 hours.

Yea thats what I figured, I have contacted the member here whom I traded the ram with to see what can be done.

Quote:

Originally Posted by LarkStarr (Post 656059)