Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2012, 10:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default Hot-Swap Bays

I'm wondering if a hot-swap bay will allow me to complete the following scenario:

Buy SSD from store. Take it home and turn my computer on. then insert the new drive into the hot-swap bay. download the latest firmware version and apply the update*. disconnect the SSD and take it to the client's place for installation. my system is still on at this point of course.

*This should be possible for all modern SSDs right? I don't need to 'boot' into the SSD before applying a firmware update from a USB drive?


Does that scenario work? if so, is this in any way different than connecting the SSD through an eSata or USB3 connection?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2012, 10:27 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Most SSDs generally need to have their FW updated from DOS or similar. The Crucial M4 can be updated via Windows though. And hot swapping it should work. As long as your board supports hot swap, all regular SATA ports should be capable. But some boards may require that you turn on hot swap for each port in the BIOS.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2012, 12:38 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 398

My System Specs

Default

Intel too. But I would not do that.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2012, 01:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Some of the flasher software out there for SSD firmware only works on the common Intel chipsets (ie: ICH9, ICH10, 6-series, 7-series, etc.), and will not work if you're using ports on a non-Intel controller.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HAF X hot swap bays francisw19 Cases 6 May 3, 2011 06:08 PM
Swanky Hot Swappable Drive bays Mnpctech Off Topic 4 May 27, 2010 11:45 AM
3 extra 3.5" drive bays sindraod New Builds 4 November 18, 2009 01:28 PM
NZXT LEXA: HDD Bays ? JORD4N Cases 0 October 3, 2009 07:38 PM
HD 5870 Size ? = Remove HDD Bays JORD4N Video Cards 2 October 3, 2009 06:54 PM