Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 04:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Default how do i change what files are installed on my ssd/hard drive

my problem is i recently installed an SSD into my computer, i got everything up and running and its now running as my boot drive, with a couple additional games on it. my problem now is i dont know exactly how to set it so not everything installs to my ssd because its only 120 gbs it wont be able to hold all my stuff, if anyone knows how to change the settings so i can choose what installs to my SSD and what doesnt that would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 04:31 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

If you have a secondary hard drive, you can just format it to NTFS, and when you go to install a game, it will ask you to install to the c drive (windows), click browse or change or whatever and select the other hard drive. I have Diablo 3, starcrat 2, warcraft 3 installed on a secondary ssd. If you use Steam you can move your steam directory to a secondary hard drive as well. (Google search how to do it) Origin games can be installed to another drive too.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 04:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Don't use the "express install" for anything. Always select "custom install" as that will typically give you the option to select where you want to install.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 10:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 161
Default

You could change your libraries (music, documents, etc) default locations to your hard drive, and if needed use Steam Mover to move your games that you are currently not playing from your SSD.

Open Windows Explorer and right-click a library in the left navigation pane, select Properties.
Click "Include a folder" navigate to your hard drive and create a new folder there (documents, or whatever you plan to move) then click Include Folder. The new folder should show up in the Properties section for that library. Click to select it, then select "Set Save Location". Now when you add something to one of those libraries, they should be on the hard drive.
My Documents can also be moved by right-clicking and selecting the Location tab, click Move (create a My Documents folder on the hard drive) click Select Folder. You will receive a pop-up asking if you want to move the contents of the directory to the new location, select Yes. All done, enjoy that SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who owns your files on Google Drive? TedShackley Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 26, 2012 01:35 PM
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 04:24 PM
How to change the letter drive of the system disk? francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 1, 2009 01:21 PM
How hard is it to change the fan in a card? dadzilla Video Cards 2 May 20, 2009 10:36 PM
Setup did not find any hard disks installed on your computer the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 May 26, 2008 10:48 PM