Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 04:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default SSD Help needed :)

Hello, right i need a little help as i am a little bit confused, right now i am looking into to investing in a Seagate Momentus XT 750GB Solid State Hybrid, and i just have a few questions about it

1. When the i installed the drive how to i transfer my Windows 7, to it?
2. Is there a way to transfer programs without uninstalling and reinstalling them to new drive?
3. Can you even put a Monentus in a desktop?

Thankyou,

Last edited by AuXDubz; September 2, 2012 at 05:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 10:35 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

The hybrid drives behave exactly the same as a regular hard drive so far as installation/use is concerned. Just a but faster performance. Note these are NOT SSD's and will not deliver SSD performance.

1) There are a number of migration tools on the net and for purchase. A sarch on yourt favorite search engine, or peruse of system utilities at your favorite vendor should turn up a number of options.
2) See above. Most tools will transfer your entire install to a new drive.
3) Yes you can. If it is a 2.5" you may need a bracket adapater for a 3.5" drive bay
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 02:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 161
Default

I agree with NyteOwl, however it may be wise to consider other caching options as well if you are looking for both capacity, and performance. Intel's newer chipsets offer Smart Response Technology, and several SSD manufacturers have their own cache drives (OCZ Synapse, Corsair Accelerator, etc).

If you have a spare drive on hand for back-ups or storage, you could use a disk image to transfer everything over en-masse, whether using the one built into Windows, or a free program like Macrium Reflect. Also, if you buy an OEM drive it will not include screws or cables.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 03:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AuXDubz View Post
Hello, right i need a little help as i am a little bit confused, right now i am looking into to investing in a Seagate Momentus XT 750GB Solid State Hybrid, and i just have a few questions about it

1. When the i installed the drive how to i transfer my Windows 7, to it?
2. Is there a way to transfer programs without uninstalling and reinstalling them to new drive?
3. Can you even put a Monentus in a desktop?

Thankyou,
Momentus works fine in a desktop but you won't see as much performance increase one may think.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Momentus works fine in a desktop but you won't see as much performance increase one may think.
Thanks for the response :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 09:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryceBooth View Post
I agree with NyteOwl, however it may be wise to consider other caching options as well if you are looking for both capacity, and performance. Intel's newer chipsets offer Smart Response Technology, and several SSD manufacturers have their own cache drives (OCZ Synapse, Corsair Accelerator, etc).

If you have a spare drive on hand for back-ups or storage, you could use a disk image to transfer everything over en-masse, whether using the one built into Windows, or a free program like Macrium Reflect. Also, if you buy an OEM drive it will not include screws or cables.
Thanks for the response :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 09:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryceBooth View Post
I agree with NyteOwl, however it may be wise to consider other caching options as well if you are looking for both capacity, and performance. Intel's newer chipsets offer Smart Response Technology, and several SSD manufacturers have their own cache drives (OCZ Synapse, Corsair Accelerator, etc).

If you have a spare drive on hand for back-ups or storage, you could use a disk image to transfer everything over en-masse, whether using the one built into Windows, or a free program like Macrium Reflect. Also, if you buy an OEM drive it will not include screws or cables.
Also quick question, whats the difference with a "Cache Drive"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 161
Default

A cache drive offers more NAND than the Momentus, they are usually 32-64 GB drives with accompanying software that caches the data that is installed on the hard drive of your choosing. Here is an excellent review.

Corsair Accelerator 60GB SSD Cache Drive Review
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 02:29 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

its funny cause a momentus xt is just a hard drive with the cache drive builtin lol
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 03:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryceBooth View Post
A cache drive offers more NAND than the Momentus, they are usually 32-64 GB drives with accompanying software that caches the data that is installed on the hard drive of your choosing. Here is an excellent review.

Corsair Accelerator 60GB SSD Cache Drive Review
Ok, Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help needed Talhakamran15 CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 17, 2011 01:03 AM
Help needed for a new TV Inik Display Units 33 April 3, 2010 08:49 PM
Little Help Needed The Nick Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 February 3, 2010 11:42 AM
New ram needed Inik RAM 10 October 9, 2008 12:35 PM
Help needed Inik Audio 4 October 6, 2008 06:09 PM