Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 07:54 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 292
Default Western Digital Red

i have finally purged my server of the seagate menace (7200.11)

i heard about these western digital reds. but, i understand that they are only good for servers with up to 5 drives?

i havent been able to find out why that is.

has anyone else been able to find out?

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 08:04 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

The are designed for raid arrays not single storage. Get the ES series from seagate if you want server drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 10:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

Where did you read that it's only good up to 5 drives? They are designed for NAS devices but I suspect they will function fine inside a tower.

@enaberif: is it because of TLER that you wouldn't want to use it as a single storage drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2012, 10:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 292
Default

i got this from a data page on the wd site

"WD Red is the only hard drive designed for NAS systems
that have 1-5 drive bays."

why 5? i dont know

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 12:20 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

I seriously doubt the RAID array will explode and take all your data to hell if you use 6 of those drives. May be I can get some donation to test out this theory? I have a 3Ware 12 port RAID card.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 08:38 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
i got this from a data page on the wd site

"WD Red is the only hard drive designed for NAS systems
that have 1-5 drive bays."

why 5? i dont know

rob123
Likely just marketing. I don't think any consumer-grade NAS goes above 5-bays. Anything beyond that typically gets into a rack-mounted unit.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 08:58 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

I also wanna know if these are fine for internal tower backup drives?
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 09:21 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,255
Default

Anything above 4 is usually considered SO/HO and not home user. Cant imagine why these wouldnt be good for a 8 bay SO/HO grade device. I know I want about a dozen of them to upgrade (one of) my personal NAS units! :P
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 12:04 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

Linus said on his livestream last night that he will be doing a nas / red drive showcase soon. I was about to buy some more seagate 3TB drives, but if these will be reasonably priced and offer a longer lifespan for 24/7 use I may just wait and switch to WD reds. Enterprise drives are just to expensive for me to justify for my home server.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital new Red HDD moocow Press Releases & Tech News 3 July 11, 2012 02:38 PM
Western digital WDEARS 1.5 matsta31 Price Check 6 February 3, 2012 05:24 PM
Western Digital EARS open-6 Storage 10 July 5, 2010 10:03 AM
[FS] Western Digital Green 640 GB HD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 11, 2009 12:57 PM
[FS] FS: Western Digital 300 GB Velociraptors zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 5 December 24, 2008 08:31 PM