Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 12:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default WD20EARS Smoky Smoky! HELP :(

Hi
Please suggest, advise, Guide... I am seeing stars here

I had a USB adapter Kit to use the SATA Drives... The one's that come with brick, and cables.

Anyways, as I wanted to copy some data of a 2TB WD Hard Drive... I THINK I connected the 4-Pin Power connector with the SATA power adapter in a reverse way... The STUPID, CHEAP cable did go in the wrong way Anyways, the horror is there was burning smell and smoke coming out of the area near the connector (Power and Data)....

I switched it off. Tried again (Why o why) and same. Then I took everything apart, realized that I had messed up the SATA power connector

Anyways now it wont power on and still it was giving out some smoke. I am not gonna use the adapter kit anymore (about time).

I have 2 Identical Drives with same serials/Models etc. I am reading about PCB Swap... does removing PCB void warranty? (They are in Warranty till 2013 Jan)... Any other suggestions? I heard about swapping some chip as well... me cant do that no soldering skills at all.

Anyways, The model details are:
Model WD20EARS-00S8B1
2061-771642-X01 01PD2
On PCB this is Printed:
2060-771642-001 REV P1

PLEASE HELP!!!! I have all my data on it (no p0rn jokes please, this is making me have a heart attack).
__________________
Ma Heat:
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=67149
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 12:41 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

swap the PCB, that is all you can do.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 12:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the reply. Would it void warranty on both the drives?
__________________
Ma Heat:
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=67149
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 01:25 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

There is nothing you can do other than sending it in for professional data recovery, PCB swaps don't work anymore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 09:56 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

PCB swaps won't work anymore?

Sounds interesting, why is that?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 12:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

No two hard drives are exactly alike. Data density is so high now that the drive electronics have to fine-tune themselves to the media at the factory. This generates a set of calibration constants (big numbers) that the firmware uses to correctly set up the hardware. Some of the calibration is stored on the media itself where the drive can try to read it, but some critical setup data is stored in the PCB's nonvolatile eeprom memory as well.

When you swap PCB's between mechanisms you're not retaining the correct calibration constants for that drive. It may or may not work. Every year as densities go up it gets less likely a PCB swap will help without extra effort (ie reflashing the firmware and updating the calibration somehow). I don't know how you'd regenerate the calibration info or copy it across from the dead PCB. Perhaps the EEPROM can be desoldered from the old PCB and moved to the new one, or the data can be copied across with some sort of test jig, or perhaps the factory or a big-bucks recovery outfit has the correct software to recalibrate the drive after the swap. But it's no longer an easy DIY thing as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 01:22 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Why Control Board Swaps don't work anymore - YouTube

Although I don't know how correct that is, this pretty much sums it up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 02:19 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

interesting, I didn't know this.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 07:24 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
interesting, I didn't know this.
I haven't had to do it in years so I never really read up on it anymore. Good info for sure,

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 07:44 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

Huh, thanks for the info.... it has been maybe 4-5 years since I have tried this... Just more excuses to backup backup backup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pair of WD20EARS 2TB's supaflyx3 Price Check 3 January 3, 2012 02:57 PM
5K3000 2TB or WD20EARS 2TB? upcoast604 Storage 2 June 20, 2011 10:43 AM
WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 _dangtx_ Storage 12 April 5, 2011 09:26 PM
Quiet 2TB Raid 1 ??Wd20EARS??? dustin1706 Storage 10 July 8, 2010 03:12 PM