Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 03:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93

My System Specs

Default Upgrading Storage Drives, looking at Seagate for best value and performance.

Hi,

I am seeking advice on upgrading my storage drives. The criteria I inputted on Newegg led me to Seagate hard drives. I would like to know if 3TB is a good way to go over 2TB, and if running two of them in Raid 0 is a wise choice. If there are better internal hard drives with similar value out there, I do appreciate the input :)

Below are the criteria I entered, which pointed to Seagate drives:

Capacity: 3TB
Cache: 64MB
RPM: 7200 RPM
Interface: SATA 6.0GB/s

The three options were as below, though I am really not sure the difference between them, so am choosing based on price, to opt for 2 of the ST3000DM001 in raid 0.

Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive $149.99
Seagate Barracuda STBD3000100 3TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
$179.99
Seagate SV35.5 ST3000VX000 3TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
$199.99

Hope 2 of these will be a good choice for my current setup, which should be outlined below.

Appreciate all input, comments and feedback! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 03:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93

My System Specs

Default

I filled in my current system specs in the "About Me", though do not see it as part of my signature, so here are my specs copied from that page:

System Specs
  • System Specs Yes
  • Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme7 Gen3
  • Processor Intel® Core™ i7-2700K / Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo Direct Touch 4 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 AM3 LG
  • Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR Sniper SE 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 1.5V Memory Kit
  • Video Card(s) Two SLI - EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Fermi 772MHZ 3GB GDDR5 2xDVI Mini-HDMI PCI-E Video Card
  • Hard Drive(s) Drive #1 - KINGSTON HyperX SSD SH100S3120G (111 GB) Drive #2 - SAMSUNG HD320KJ (298 GB) Drive #3 - SAMSUNG HD320KJ (298 GB) Drive #4 - SeagateExternal (2794 GB)
  • Optical Drive(s) DVD/RE:\ HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH10L ATA Device
  • Case Silverstone RV03B-W Raven 3 Black ATX Gaming Case 7X5.25 4X3.5INT 2X2.5INT (please don't buy this)
  • Power Supply Corsair Professional Series™ Gold AX1200 — 80 PLUS® Gold Certified Fully-Modular Power S
  • Sound Card None
  • Monitor Three of Dell U2410 + XFX Fxtristand Triple LCD Display Monitor Stand - Supports 3 LCD Monitor 17-24
  • Operating System Windows 7 Professional, also have Laptop: MSI GT70, with 2 64GB SSD Raid 0, GTX 675M, Blueray Burner
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 02:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,520

My System Specs

Default

the ST3000DM001 3TB drive is a good choice and speedy enough by it's own, but you want to put 2 of these drives in RAID 0? I wouldn't do that, you double your chances to loose your data in case anything goes wrong. Just use them independently, no RAID 0.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 02:29 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,778

My System Specs

Default

Your system specs are in the top right >------------------->--------------------->------------------------------------>-------------------------------------------------->-------------------------------------------------------------> ^
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 08:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
the ST3000DM001 3TB drive is a good choice and speedy enough by it's own, but you want to put 2 of these drives in RAID 0? I wouldn't do that, you double your chances to loose your data in case anything goes wrong. Just use them independently, no RAID 0.
Thank you for the input, I am now leaning towards two of the ST3000DM001's and NOT do raid 0 as per your advice :)

Also thanks for the info on the system specs at the top of the page :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 09:06 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

What are you using these for though?

You could setup Matrix RAID (feature of Intel's RAID) and have a 1TB RAID0 "partition" and a 2.5TB RAID1 "partition".

Then you could install whatever apps/games on the RAID0 partition and keep your data a bit safer on the RAID1 partition.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 01:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93

My System Specs

Default

Bollocks,

I just wanted an upgrade from my current 300gb models. Have placed the following order at Bestdirect.ca. I hope everything still works out for me, maybe I could use my current two 300gb models for the Raid 0, and keep my 64 SSD for operating system/fav game(s). Would I be able to incorporate my new two 3TB models into a raid like this? To recap I will have 1 64GB SSD, 2 300GB storage drives, + the 2 new 3TB seagates below (as well as an external 3TB seagate drive)

Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200RPM SATA3 64MB Cache 3.5IN Internal Hard Drive Environmental Fee $0.05 Per Item.
2 $187.00 $374.00



Corsair Air Series AF120 Performance Edition 120mm 1650RPM 63.47CFM 30DBA Airflow Fan Dual Pack 2 $24.20 $48.40 Corsair Air Series SP120 120MM 2350RPM 62.74CFM 35DBA High Static Pressure Fan Dual Pack 1 $23.68 $23.68
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 03:39 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,778

My System Specs

Default

The 3TB Seagates will be faster than your 300GB drives (probably even with them raided or very close to it)..

I wouldn't even bother using the 300GB drives... sell or pass to another system..

But if you want to use them.. then raid 0 on the 300GB for your games and then either have the 3TB as 2 separate drives or mirror them in a separate raid array.

All depends on how important your data is to you..
I've never had any even relatively modern drive fail on me so personally I'm not that worried and the bit of data that is important to me is backed-up in 3 different locations (my pc, my laptop and my bro's PC)

If the data isn't that important or if you have it backed-up else-where then by all means go for raid 0 on the 3TB drives too..
But be warned you could have a raid array failure much easier than a drive failure... I have had this happen a few times..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 05:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I will most likely discard the 300gb's and use the 3TB drives separately behind my SSD. Is the transfer and read speed literally 2x when in raid 0?

If it is, or close to it, I may actually go for that and back up anything critical onto my external.. just my thoughts..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2012, 01:23 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

No RAID 0 if you're lucky may yield an 10-15% improvement in speed. Hardly worth the 2x increased risk of data loss.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the Seagate equivalent to WD drives botat29 Storage 2 April 8, 2012 10:05 AM
Seagate Finalizes Samsung Storage Acquisition Deal Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 December 20, 2011 11:56 AM
Comparing 2 storage drives technix Storage 6 August 6, 2010 12:31 PM
Storage array: Bare drives, SS, RAID, SSD, or other? Viceroy Storage 21 October 28, 2009 08:37 PM
Seagate 7200.10 drives 486 Storage 16 November 10, 2008 01:44 PM