Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 01:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default Looking for good, comprehensive HDD diagnostic utilites.

I have two Western Digital HDD's that I used to use, but my needed storage space outgrew them. Now I am thinking about selling them, but I have not used either in months, so I want to run some good diagnostics to make sure that I am not going to be selling someone a hard drive that is just going to crap out on them.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 02:35 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

There is not really any way to know for sure, however, the HD manufacturer will have software that will check that the drive has not tried to work outside certain parameters yet, which is all you can do with regards to HDs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 07:58 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

You could use one of the programs from WD lifegaurd tools that should be sufficient enough to check and also clean them up for you .

Remember to wipe 3 times you don't want some one to be walking around with your dirty drive ;)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 08:10 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 920
Default

1 wipe is enough, 3 is just a waste of time.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 10:10 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Manufacturers tools are the best but other than that I've had good luck with HDAT2
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 10:24 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
1 wipe is enough, 3 is just a waste of time.

Let me rephrase that. Don't forget to properly wipe the drive .
I apologize Nodscene for my poor attempt at humor .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 06:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks very much for the info, guys. The utilities returned great results; the drives are great.

Questions about erasing the disks though; there are two options for data erasure; quick and full. Quick lays down zeros over the first and last million bytes, full does the entire drive. Full is expected to take 17 hours+. Do I need to be paranoid enough to warrant zeroing out the entire drive, or just the quick erase a few times.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2012, 09:44 AM
Stosh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 73
Default

HD Sentinel is a fantastic drive utility.

The latest version covers just about every SSD out there, but you'd have to check the site to make absolutely sure.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2012, 09:45 AM
Stosh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x30Jx View Post
Thanks very much for the info, guys. The utilities returned great results; the drives are great.

Questions about erasing the disks though; there are two options for data erasure; quick and full. Quick lays down zeros over the first and last million bytes, full does the entire drive. Full is expected to take 17 hours+. Do I need to be paranoid enough to warrant zeroing out the entire drive, or just the quick erase a few times.
if you don't wipe the entire drive, someone with recovery software can still pull data off of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Diagnostic/Error Codes ipaine Troubleshooting 19 June 3, 2013 10:39 AM
Utilites/Programs for Video processing/encoding CMetaphor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 April 19, 2012 07:14 AM
Diagnostic tools for: PSU, CPU, Memory, Motherboard Your_friendly_gamer Troubleshooting 3 July 24, 2011 01:44 PM
Diagnostic Help Gonzo Troubleshooting 8 January 5, 2011 11:41 AM
DailyTech reports that Microsoft issues comprehensive Vista patches to testers Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 2 July 30, 2007 08:54 PM