Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 19, 2012, 04:25 PM
Rookie
F@H

My System Specs

Default Seagate 2TB - ST32000641AS vs. ST2000DM001

Both are 2TB, 7200RPM drives, and disregarding price for the moment, what is the difference between the two? I've heard a lot about the noise the ST2000DM001 makes when it parks its heads.
Old July 19, 2012, 06:09 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Barracude XT is their "RAID Edition". In theory, better RAID support, longer MTBF and 3yr warranty.

My brother just got the ST1000DM001 and it's been perfectly fine. No audible noise from it and it's a pretty quick drive since it has 1TB platters. This is the 1TB model though.

Old July 20, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rookie
F@H

My System Specs

Thanks for the reply.

I've decided to go with the Barracuda XT.

Truth is, I actually bought a ST2000DM001 2 and a half months ago, and I've been wrestling with Seagate support for the past 2 months trying to get rid of that chirping noise, then trying to update firmware to no avail, and finally getting multiple bum replacements.

It looks like the first iteration of the 1TB/platter / Advanced Format+7200RPM has been a bumpy transition, at least for Seagate. They agreed to swap it for a new XT instead, which I think is a pretty good deal, and I should be able to ride out the 3 year warranty until they work out the kinks and I need to upgrade.
Old July 20, 2012, 11:28 AM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

All seagates chirp. Just all WDs make a more "click" sound. Nature of the platter and spindle beast. IF the chirp is LOUD then I would look to your PSU. Seagates are more sensitive to voltage ripple than some....BUT they let you KNOW when they are not happy.