Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 09:23 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default HDD not showing up in windows

I recently switched out my SSD for a larger one and re-installed Windows.

Now my 500GB HDD isn't showing up in Windows. It shows in the BIOS, but not in windows.

Where do I go to fix that?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 09:58 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

Right click on My Computer. Select Manage. Select Disk Mangement. Hit Action -> refresh and then rescan disks IF it doesnt show up. Most likely it will and it simply "lost" its drive label. You MIGHT have to reinitialize it but most likely you will only have to hit on it in the top window, right click "change drive letter and paths" and give it a drive letter. Then it should be back. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 10:20 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Got it. Thanks:)
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 10:21 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

this type of thing happens a fair amount of times to myself and like AKG says above that is all I ever needed to do
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 10:40 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

"have you tried turning it off and on again?"
I ran into a similar problem, wouldn't show up anywhere on the system, restart, and it's back to normal.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 11:12 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I rebooted a few times in the process of installing drivers, new software and overclocking.

And, "Are you sure it's plugged in?"
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My SSD is not showing up! hour1702 Storage 8 December 8, 2011 01:56 PM
Windows 7 Stopped Showing Korean Characters. Can Show Japanese and Chinese geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 22, 2011 08:08 AM
1TB HDD showing up as only 196GB? Airw4ves Storage 2 September 16, 2010 09:14 AM
Not all RAM showing ? Kilauea RAM 12 February 1, 2010 09:13 PM
Windows Live Messenger Not Showing Contact Name geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 July 20, 2009 06:30 PM