Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 11:34 AM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default Are my hard drives fried?

I recently got a new tower and honestly the most damaging thing I did to the hard drives was put them on my glass desk as I worked on the tower. before plugging them back in, I had 2 SSD's installed in the tower and my blu ray drives. I went into bios and for the first time I set my sata mode into AHCI and then installed windows 7. after everything was installed and running, I threw in my hard drives (150GB WD raptor and a 2TB WD storage drive). both were not recognized in windows and were also not recognized in the BIOS so I knew something was wrong. I put the 2TB hard drive into an external enclosure I have and tried plugging it into my computer and also my laptop. it was not recognized either. I then tried the 150GB raptor in the external enclosure and I heard spark sounds, smelled burnt stuff and saw smoke coming out of the back of the enclosure. I also got electrocuted when I touched the side of the external enclosure to try and hit the off switch . I pulled the plug instead and now I have no idea what is going on.

do you guys think these hard drives are done for? I want to try them both internally on a different computer but I don't know if this has the potential to fry other components in that different computer. Is that possible or would the hard drives just simply not work and everything will be OK? I have warranty on both drives but I don't know if frying them is covered with western digital. the 2TB was also a storage drive and I had a lot of movie torrents so I don't know if WD will call FBI and give them my info (that's extreme I know but I don't know what their policy is on returned hard drives / piracy)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 11:45 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I don't honestly think they'd care about hard drive contents unless it was something disturbing IE: child pornography

Putting the HDs on a glass desk isn't going to hurt them, regardless if they were in use or not.

I'm not sure at this point what happened.....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 11:50 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

It seems strange that the drives wouldn't show up in the bios unless they were plugged into sata ports on the motherboard that dont work or are not enabled. When you fried the drive on the enclosure, Did you have the drive plugged in the wrong way when you put it into the enclosure? Was the pcb on the drive contacting the sides of the enclosure and shorting?

If u have an old psu (we don't want to risk damaging your good computer) u can plug in the drives to sata power only and power up the psu and see if the drives spin up. Run them for a while and if they are ok, you can power down and retry the drives in your computer. Make sure the sata power and sata data cable are properly connected. If your computer bios doesn't see the drives, then either they are dead or the sata data connection is faulty.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 12:00 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Wait, you said you have 2 SSDs, are they in raid? If so, is RAID only selected on the ports the SSDs are on, or do you also have other ports which your HDDs are installed on as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 12:25 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

It's just .mkv files. a lot of them, meaning a lot of blu ray movies that are like 10-12gb each. and I have probably over 70 of them. also games and software. the hard drive is nearly full and it's all material I got from newzbin / newsleecher. The thought of having CP on my hard drives is disgusting, but this is what made me think that they check the hard drives. To see if this type of content is within the drives that are returned. I can see them not caring if it was few normal 800mb xvid movies but it's more like 70 blu ray ones etc.

Anyways, the hard drives still do spin. I took an old crappy computer and connected the power only and there was movement within both drives. it was hard to hear it, but putting my hand gently over the hard drives I could feel subtle vibrations. My motherboard is an EVGA X58 and the SATA ports have always worked. My tower is a Cosmos II and the only thing that I can think of that may have fried my drives is the dual hot swap tray. That's the first way I plugged them in and they haven't worked since then. I thought maybe I plugged something in wrong so I moved the 2TB internally and used a normal sata connector coming from an HX1000 and used a regular sata cable and put it into the board. This also did not show results in windows nor the BIOS. The hard drives spin, but they are not detected.

I do have 2 SSDs, but they are not in raid. I have a Intel 40gb SSD that runs my operating system, and a 120GB M4 that runs my games. My blu ray drive also works and these devices are SATA and all detected and working properly. the only ones that are messed up and maybe fried are the mechanical hard drives that I tried putting into the Cosmos II hot swap tray. I bought two 36GB raptors from the forums here a week ago or so and have not even tested them yet because I am scared to fry those too.

The crappy computer I powered the HD's on and felt vibrations were from a desktop that has no hard drive or video card, just power. So I can't check if the drives were detected on this system. I have another computer I can test them on and check these things but I wanted to get the OK from the pro's here to see if it would be safe to do so. If they are spinning then you say it is safe to try them on a different computer correct?

Last edited by deinosaur; May 14, 2012 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 12:31 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
It seems strange that the drives wouldn't show up in the bios unless they were plugged into sata ports on the motherboard that dont work or are not enabled. When you fried the drive on the enclosure, Did you have the drive plugged in the wrong way when you put it into the enclosure? Was the pcb on the drive contacting the sides of the enclosure and shorting?

If u have an old psu (we don't want to risk damaging your good computer) u can plug in the drives to sata power only and power up the psu and see if the drives spin up. Run them for a while and if they are ok, you can power down and retry the drives in your computer. Make sure the sata power and sata data cable are properly connected. If your computer bios doesn't see the drives, then either they are dead or the sata data connection is faulty.
There is only one way to plug it in otherwise it wouldn't plug in at all. The enclosure has a sata power and sata connector sticking out that you just have to slide the hard drive into. I pushed it in all the way and power it on. I touched the top of the raptor to see if it was spinning and when I touched it, the spark sounds started happening and smoke started coming out. The weird thing is, I used this external enclosure about 2 weeks ago to transfer some files from my 2TB to a friends laptop and it worked fine. The hard drive was detected and plugging the enclosure with usb to his laptop worked. He got about 60 gb worth of stuff from my hard drive to his laptop without problems. This is why I am worried it may have been the stupid hot swap tray from my cosmos II even though that seems unlikely.

EDIT:
yup their gone. I tried them on a different computer along with the two 36GB raptors that I had not tested on my main computer yet. The two 36GB raptors worked and were detected in the BIOS of the test computer. the 2TB and 150GB raptor were plugged in the same way and they were not detected in BIOS of test computer. This sucks!

So now I need to know how to figure out what is frying them. I really doubt it's my motherboard. and that cosmos II hot swap tray seems unlikely. any ideas on what to test?

Last edited by deinosaur; May 14, 2012 at 01:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 05:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deinosaur View Post
I then tried the 150GB raptor in the external enclosure and I heard spark sounds, smelled burnt stuff and saw smoke coming out of the back of the enclosure. I also got electrocuted when I touched the side of the external enclosure to try and hit the off switch

I don't know if WD will call FBI and give them my info
I looked at WD's return policy and they say nothing about what they'll do with your data, except:
Quote:
Western Digital shall have no liability with respect to (a) data lost, regardless of the cause, (b) data recovery services, or (c) data contained in any Product placed in Western Digitals' possession. Western Digital is not liable for and has no obligation to pay for any cost associated with data recovery.
WD Support / Warranty Services / End User / Packaging and Shipping Instructions
From that it shows they won't even try to get into your data unless someone's really interested, or something clearly visible on the HDD sparks a police investigation...

It sounds like the power connector / cord to your external enclosure is to blame, although I wouldn't advise you try to test that thing again unless you know how to handle faulty electronics. My guess is from the shock you received - that for sure means something's up with the grounding of the enclosure, or you were dragging your feet with wool socks on carpet for a couple minutes before touching the enclosure...

As for backtracking the failure, I'd look at anything that connects to the hard drives, starting with power supply cables, power supply, then data cables, then whatever may be on the other side of the data cables.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 06:05 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I looked at WD's return policy and they say nothing about what they'll do with your data, except:

WD Support / Warranty Services / End User / Packaging and Shipping Instructions
From that it shows they won't even try to get into your data unless someone's really interested, or something clearly visible on the HDD sparks a police investigation...

It sounds like the power connector / cord to your external enclosure is to blame, although I wouldn't advise you try to test that thing again unless you know how to handle faulty electronics. My guess is from the shock you received - that for sure means something's up with the grounding of the enclosure, or you were dragging your feet with wool socks on carpet for a couple minutes before touching the enclosure...

As for backtracking the failure, I'd look at anything that connects to the hard drives, starting with power supply cables, power supply, then data cables, then whatever may be on the other side of the data cables.
Thank you very much for looking into it for me. I also tried to find anything relating to that in their policies and had no luck. I have hardwood floors and normal Hanes socks lol so that probably isn't it. The power supply SHOULD be fine... since everything else that is connected to it is working perfectly. Do you think it could be the Cosmos II hotswap enclosure? This is the very first place that I put the hard drives after they stopped working. and the External Enclosure worked for me with the now fried 2TB hard drive about 2 days before getting the Cosmos II. I am not good with electronics or even know how to test them in a detailed manner, but I am tempted to stick a 36GB raptor into the hotswap area and see if that hard drive gets murdered. I have 2 of these that I know work ... hmmmm.

Western Digital also instantly approved the RMA and I have them packed up and ready to go. I just need to find the source of the problem now so this never happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 07:19 PM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

i hope putting hard drives n a glass desk wont hurt them, if it does im in trouble!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2012, 08:19 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master_Shake_ View Post
i hope putting hard drives n a glass desk wont hurt them, if it does im in trouble!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old hard drives m0pelley99 Off Topic 14 May 16, 2011 03:30 PM
[WTB] 4x 1TB hard drives werth Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 25, 2009 06:37 AM
[WTB] hard drives mo' power Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 28, 2009 09:31 AM
[WTB] Hard Drives miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 29, 2008 06:52 PM