Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 29, 2008, 08:21 PM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

Default Sata Data Cable Sleeving

I've been aiming to wire my case a bit better, and it will be easiest if I put some custom sleeving on my sata data cables, is there any risk in this?

To be clear, I aim to remove the standard insulation and replace it.
Old March 29, 2008, 08:46 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Hmmmmmm.....

I've got no hands-on experience, but SATA cables have been reported to be delicate contraptions without messing about with the shielding. Not sure if that was just when they first came out, but if it were me, I wouldn't be mucking about with them.

That said..... As long as you've got a spare, and don't use it for critical data transfer until you're sure it's ok it wouldn't cost much to find out though. :)

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Old March 29, 2008, 09:02 PM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

I rather suspect I shouldnt be tinkering about, inside there are in fact 7 cables total, 3 are very small and each seems to be placed in the insulation seperate from each other and the other 4. These 4 are broken down into two groupings inside what looks almost like aluminum foil, they are then shielded again, I'm not so much worried about them as I am about the 3 smaller seperate cables, I might consider tracing them to see where they go, because if they are safe to touch to each other, I'm gonna do a test on a cheap rig with cheap hardware to make sure nothing explodes.

Really hope someone out there knows something I don't though, I'd rather not find out the hard way. Google btw has turned up next to squat.
Old March 29, 2008, 09:14 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Is this what you're looking for???

Serial ATA Bus Pin out [SATA], SATA Pinout, SATA Signal Names