Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 09:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default Seeking MB's that have more than 4 SATA connectors

Apologies if I've posted in the wrong forum, but the question I have is storage oriented.

It looks like I've maxed out my SATA connectors (my current MB has 4). My case can accomodate 6 drives, and I'd rather not go through the process of migrating my two 500 giggers to 1 TB each.

So, its time for another upgrade - MB and CPU. Perhaps memory as well. I'm interested in MB recommendations (AMD or Intel) that offer more than 4 connectors. I've seen one Asus MB, but it's also got wireless, which I don't really need.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 09:06 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

Why not just get a PCI/PCIe based SATA card or something?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 09:17 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

My Crosshair has 6... so do most of the newer chipsets (790,780g etc I believe.)
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 09:27 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e&promoid=1046

Here is a good board with 8 connectors ands it's a good price too- also a good overclocker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 11:28 AM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Why not just get a hard drive enclosure so you only plug in whatever drive you need at the moment. I find there isn't really any point in putting storage drives in my case and have them all use power and heat up the case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 12:06 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-X38-DQ6

My Gigabyte X38-DQ6 has 6 internal sataII connections, 2 Gsata, as well as adaptors to have an additional 4 external sata connections. Not to mention it is an awesome board.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 03:28 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

My DFI X38-T2R has 8 SATA ports on it. Six come from the ICH9 southbridge, and two come from a JMicron chip. And you can use any of the 6 together for RAID0/1/5/10 and the JMicron chip can do RAID0/1. Not a cheap board though.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 11:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks everyone for your response. I'm thinking that I'd prefer to go with a new MB, since I can't move up to dual or quad core unless I do.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 11:16 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

I have an Asus M2N-E (non SLI) with 6 SATA inputs for sale. Solid board used it for a year! Have not posted it yet though, been busy. Also have 2x1GB PC25300 DDR2 that works very well with it. PM me if you are interested and I can send you pics/details tonight.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 11:31 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Abit IP35-Pro has 6 with the ability to properly use locking sata cables.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes