Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 10:55 AM
HWC YouTube Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default Optimal configuration for video editing with SSD drives?

I've been wondering if there is a way to optimize performance for my video editing (Using Adobe Production Premium CS5.5) with the drives that i have. My configuration is as follows:

120GB Intel 520: OS W7 + PP CS5.5
128GB Kingston V200: Current Working Projects (All the video files + extras)
2TB + 1TB WD Black: Storage Backup
60GB OCZ V2 is extra: Currently empty, just got it in the mail from RMA.

So Would i see any speed difference while working off one drive with my CS5.5 and my videos? Or does the program suffer having to look on another drive?

Thanks in advance,
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 10:56 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Keep the program installed on the 520, raw files on the 128GB V200, and render to the vertex 2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 11:03 AM
HWC YouTube Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Keep the program installed on the 520, raw files on the 128GB V200, and render to the vertex 2.
Thanks for a prompt reply! I will try that now! Perhaps do some timing tests, of rendering same 5min file to see whats the speed difference!

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 11:37 AM
HWC YouTube Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Keep the program installed on the 520, raw files on the 128GB V200, and render to the vertex 2.
I just ran the rendering tests, the file is just under 5min, running 2 rendering loops, here are the timing results:

Rendering to:
OCZ60GB - 4:15sec
Kingston 128GB - 4:04sec
Intel 520 120GB: 4:17sec

Interesting, considering the kingston drive is the slowest of the three. I guess its just a matter of a few seconds but perhaps the locations of the raw files is important.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 01:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

if they where all matching i'd raid 0 them
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 01:35 PM
HWC YouTube Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrybear View Post
if they where all matching i'd raid 0 them
I would love to raid, but OCZ V2 was my 1st ssd, then i got the kingston when OCZ was in RMA, and found an amazing deal on Intel 520. But 520 is the best and most reliable i hear, so hopefully i can get another for raid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Editing PC Ryknw01 New Builds 6 March 23, 2012 11:44 AM
Best Video Card Configuration Choice tpoliah20 Video Cards 5 December 12, 2011 06:37 PM
setting up 3 Drives for faster Photo/Video editing Malam Storage 0 December 17, 2010 03:41 PM
Video Editing Samael O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 28, 2009 05:12 PM
different drives in RAID 5 configuration serenity Storage 2 January 29, 2009 12:18 AM