Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2012, 08:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: flow ryda
Posts: 61
Default Help Installing 2 hard drives on my ASRock board

I'm a little bit confused, building my rig and I noticed I have two types of SATA3 ports(5 total ports). I'm not setting up a raid configuration, just my SSD for OS + Games, and a MomentusXT for everything else. The 2 types of ports are labeled SATA 3 mode, and ASMedia Sata 3 mode. I know the SSD is going into port SATA3_0, but the Momentus I'm not sure if it makes a difference..... these are questions... sorry if im a noob but this is new to me.

1. Does it matter which port the MomentusXT SataIII drive goes into? Both groups are set to AHCI by default i believe, ....the manual labels these ports as follows:, "SATA 3 Mode":SATA3_0, SATA3_1; "ASMedia SATA3 Mode": SATA3_A0, SATA3_A1, SATA3_A2. I know the SSD with OS goes into SATA3_0, but I'm unsure if it matters where I put the Seagate HDD, or if one slot is better than another performance-wise. Otherwise I'd like to put both drives in the two "SATA 3 Mode" ports(the SSD in SATA_0 and MomentusXT in SATA3_1).

2. Should I install just my SSD, then install windows, then add the MomentusXT drive after the Windows install? or I can install both drives and then install windows?

thanks for the help
__________________
Thanks, Gin...my new build:

Support Intel's X79/LGA2011 platform, it is worthy
Intel Core i7-3820 SB-E @4.6Ghz
ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
16GB Samsung DDR3-1600 30nm MV-3V4G3D/US
Corsair Carbide 400r
Corsair H70 cooler w/2x COUGAR CF-V12HP 120mm fans
EVGA GTX680
Thermaltake toughpower grand 850
Intel 520 180GB SSD
Seagate momentus XT 750 gen2 hybrid
LG BD burner w/ 3D MDisc Lightscribe
Dell UltraSharp U2412M LED 1920x1200 w/IPS
Cerwin-Vega XD3 sound monitors
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

Last edited by ginman522; April 6, 2012 at 08:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2012, 09:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: flow ryda
Posts: 61
Default

Well I figured it out, but thanks...

Asmedia ports are just a 3rd party controller, probably best avoided unless needed? SO Im going put both drives on the intel ports. I didnt realize that the intel chipset only included 2 SATA3 ports.

As far as installing both drives before I install windows, I'm still unclear about. I'm sure it doesnt matter in long run but I don't want the board to think I have a raid setup. Is it best to install the 2nd drive after windows?
__________________
Thanks, Gin...my new build:

Support Intel's X79/LGA2011 platform, it is worthy
Intel Core i7-3820 SB-E @4.6Ghz
ASRock X79 Extreme6/GB
16GB Samsung DDR3-1600 30nm MV-3V4G3D/US
Corsair Carbide 400r
Corsair H70 cooler w/2x COUGAR CF-V12HP 120mm fans
EVGA GTX680
Thermaltake toughpower grand 850
Intel 520 180GB SSD
Seagate momentus XT 750 gen2 hybrid
LG BD burner w/ 3D MDisc Lightscribe
Dell UltraSharp U2412M LED 1920x1200 w/IPS
Cerwin-Vega XD3 sound monitors
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2012, 09:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I always install with only the OS drive in place first, otherwise windows sets aside an OS partition on each drive hooked up, even though only the OS drive needs it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2012, 10:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Surrey
Posts: 42

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yeah, I always install with only the OS drive in place first, otherwise windows sets aside an OS partition on each drive hooked up, even though only the OS drive needs it.
Sh*t maybe thats why my mobo has 2 "windows 7" options on bootup, one goes to my optical drive somehow though
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an old soundcard on a new board? TokeR Audio 20 September 15, 2010 01:32 PM
Re-Installing XP - Format / Partition Drives rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 November 18, 2008 10:33 AM
WTB Asrock AM2CPU Daughter board Varroa Buy/Sell & Trade 4 November 7, 2008 12:25 PM
FS: ASRock X48 board Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 23 August 5, 2008 03:55 PM