Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 04:42 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 507

My System Specs

Default Region Unlocking Blu-ray ASUS BC-12B1ST

Hey Everyone,

I have an asus BC-12B1ST OEM drive in my main PC. I want to unlock the region on it (via firmware hack or however), but could use some help as I haven't found much online myself. I have a few British DVDs I bought when I was living across the pond that I'd really like to watch, but I don't want to switch codes and eventually lock myself into one region.

Any tips/suggestions? I've found some f/w hacks for pioneers, but not for this drive.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 05:19 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Are they not the same as DVD drives in that regard? I believe you are allowed to switch the region a few times before it locks to a certain region.

Go to device manager and then go to the properties on your blu-ray drive. Then look for a region tab, in there you can change the region. At least I know it was like this for the dvd drives. I have a new drive I have not adjusted the region on and it says I have 4 changes left before it locks.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 05:21 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

kind of old but warning third party firmware The Dangerous Brothers Present....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Well you could just grab the iso and mount it. Imgburn and VirtualCloneDrive, or DaemonTools
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2012, 09:23 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Or pick up a second drive used/cheap (if there is such a thing as a cheap BD drive) and use it for the second region. Expensive option I know but ...
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 11:27 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
Or pick up a second drive used/cheap (if there is such a thing as a cheap BD drive) and use it for the second region. Expensive option I know but ...
Thanks for the tips everyone. I had an old samsung DVD drive that I had in an external 5.25 enclosure from way back in the day (like 2002). I gave it a shot and it turns out that it's region free, so I'm able to use it for now (and for some reason I swear I put a region free hack in it lol). Turns out hanging onto old tech pays off on occasion!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are blu-ray drives region free? Blu Peripherals 5 June 11, 2011 02:08 PM
HwC Meet Durham Region Arinoth Off Topic 47 September 2, 2010 01:24 AM
sort out Buynsell buy region? Shadowmeph Suggestions & Feedback 10 January 9, 2009 01:42 PM
DVD drive and Region coding NyteOwl Storage 0 November 22, 2008 07:36 PM
epox dealer in montreal region Fr0sty CPU's and Motherboards 7 June 2, 2007 02:20 AM