Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 04:56 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default Weird Spin up noises

So this is really begining to annoy me.

I have a ton of drives in my system. Never been a problem. But I installed Vista 64 bit, works fine. However, I get this strange issue every once in a while.

Essentially I hear a little click or a chirp. Then the sound of the drives spinning up, then another little chirp. I am SURE that this is coming from my RAID 0 Array. It happens about once every minute. Also, when this happens, in between the time the spin up sound and the second chirp, I have a small little lock up, I can't type or click on things.

This doesnt happen all the time, though. It seems to be only once or twice a week, and then it does it for a few hours.

I have disabled SMART status in the BIOS, and can't think of anything else. Could it be some stupid Vista setting???
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 05:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

SMART is probably a good thing to leave on, as it can warn you of a bad disk.. Does the event log show any issues with "disk" or you RAID controller?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 05:16 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Windows updates?
I would re-enable SMART and double-check all your drives.
Run HD tach and try to recreate the noise?
Run Hitachi's Drive Fitness Test for defects.

Back-up the data just in case?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 05:19 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Ok I will give all that a try. I am currently De-fragmenting the data partition (about 750gb) and we'll see what I can do from there on. I have a free 500GB drive that I can back up most of the stuff onto. Hope it's not a drive problem though!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 05:46 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Have you checked the power settings in Vista? I know by default it turns off the hard drives after like 20 minutes, so maybe that's it?

Also, do you have the latest drivers from Intel?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 07:57 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yes I see that it was set to 20 minutes, which I have changed to 999999 minutes now haha. It is still de-fraging (this is going to take a long time) so I will see if this fixes the oddity later
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 09:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Defragmenting an unreliable hard drive is not the best idea. One small hardware error in the drive (of the sort that would normally be easy to smooth over) and it could corrupt everything on the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2008, 10:05 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Hmmmmm. I pray
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2008, 06:38 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Yes I see that it was set to 20 minutes, which I have changed to 999999 minutes now haha. It is still de-fraging (this is going to take a long time) so I will see if this fixes the oddity later
I believe there's a "Never" option but 999999 should do I guess
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird result from AC Accelero S1 install donimo Video Cards 24 November 3, 2007 08:46 PM
NEED HELP with a Biostar Motherboard on Vista 64 (weird bug) db23 Troubleshooting 3 October 1, 2007 02:08 PM
Overclocking E6600, weird results dosmond Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 June 24, 2007 10:12 AM