Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 11:44 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Format new hdd as MBR or GPT?

Hi guys,

Just bought a new WD Caviar Green 3TB hdd as a media storage drive. Should I format it as MBR or GPT? I know MBR has a 2TB limit so considering that my new drive is 3TB, I'd have to go with GPT, no?

And regarding my primary hdd, a Caviar Black 640GB, I see that it's currently formatted as MBR. Is there any reason I'd switch over to GPT?

Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 11:55 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

format the 3TB as GPT.

Leave the old drive as MBR, I don't believe there are any advantages to going to GPT with that drive.

My policy is the main drive is always MBR, any data drives 2tb or greater is GPT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 12:08 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Done. Thank you!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 06:04 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

just use mbr for any drives that aren't a boot device. gpt is mostly so you can boot a drive over 2tb iirc
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 09:42 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 431

My System Specs

Default

No reason to switch from MBR to GBT unless drive is 2TB or larger, myself I like to have everything running as one type, i.e I dont use 1 optical sata and one optical as IDE, HDD wise, I would have both as MBR or GBT but thats just me.

MBR on Caviar black 640 and GBR on the 3tb should be fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Format a HDD with the OS on it? TokeR Guides & How-to's 9 June 23, 2012 07:37 AM
cannot format SSD and hdd MARSTG Troubleshooting 4 December 27, 2011 09:21 AM
mkv format help ! homer98 HTPC Systems & Software 10 March 29, 2011 09:45 PM
format hdd question CTA Off Topic 2 April 23, 2009 08:19 AM