Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 02:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default How long should a "frozen" freshly shipped HDD rest before first use?

Hello all!

[relatively useless prologue] My system disk started dying on me lately, and thankfully I noticed early enough to backup 99.9% of the data on it (a few files compromised by i/o issues). I also decided to remove my oldest and smallest storage drive because of very poor benchmarks. Despite the ridiculous price gouging going on right now, I ordered a new performance-oriented HDD (from DirectCanada) because I couldnt stomach using one of my storage green drives for system and didnt want to rely solely on the low-end SSD Im using for smartcache. The replacement disk arrived today, but its -18C outside here and the disk felt like its been stored in the snow for the last few weeks

Initially my common sense was on medical leave, so I immediately started removing the bad disks from my system. Then I thankfully realized how cold the new one was and how stupid I would be to just put it in and boot it straight away. I let it warm up a bit for an hour by putting it in-between the two dying drives I had just removed since they were still fairly warm, then I put the new one in the tower and decided to leave it like that awhile before plugging in any power until it feels safe. I plugged in the old 'emergency box' I keep in the wardrobe to sustain my severe addiction to the Internet in the meantime :p [/relatively useless prologue]

I'd just like some thoughts about how long I should let a new HDD rest at room temperature before first powering it on, considering it's -18C outside and the disk felt so cold when I first touched it that I reflexively checked my hand for frostburn marks.


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 02:44 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

Condensation is going to be your worst enemy with this and to be safe I'd personally leave it overnight. then again i tend to aire on the side of caution.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 02:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

any peice of hardware i get i make sure its room temperature

i want to make sure there will be no condensation;)
especially on the pcb
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 02:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
Condensation is going to be your worst enemy with this and to be safe I'd personally leave it overnight. then again i tend to aire on the side of caution.
Yeah thats what I was afraid of, condensation. And if 'overnight' is enough then there's no problem at all :) A google search gave me answers ranging from 4 to 72 hours so I just wanted a bit of input. Definitely waiting till the morning, and I turned up the heat a bit in the man cave to help the process along. If that's enough, all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 04:05 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

While part of me agrees wholeheartedly that you should wait I have never had a problem when I just shove them and and fire them up and I have done it dozens of times. It really depends on your patience level and I have none, lol!
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 04:11 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

I would leave it for 24 hours at least
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 04:17 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Time wouldn't be the benchmark that I would use.

When the HD felt to be near room temp then I would use it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 04:59 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Time wouldn't be the benchmark that I would use.

When the HD felt to be near room temp then I would use it.
+1 on this one.

Room temp and dry.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 05:09 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killswitch View Post
+1 on this one.

Room temp and dry.
DITTO
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 05:10 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 607

My System Specs

Default

Room temp doesn't mean dry at all and there is no real way to know if its dry on the platters without voiding your warranty. I could get a hard drive to room temperature in 5 minutes if i wanted to but that by no means tells me there is no condensation.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newegg.ca " Shipped from ON, CAN " MarkOne Rumor Mill 38 November 20, 2013 04:46 AM
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 10:54 PM
New "long term" build for gaming/video editing jessydiamond New Builds 9 August 16, 2011 02:09 AM
[FS] eVGA 8400GS "PCI" $45 shipped Silvgearx Buy/Sell & Trade 14 July 11, 2009 08:46 PM
C0000218 Fix "long and short" TopDogZero O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 May 28, 2008 12:20 PM