Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:08 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default RAID compatible HDD

Well I got more RAID problems today. My remaining RAID 5 using 2x250GB WD and 1x250 Seagate died on me. Apparently, WD have something call Time Limited Error Recovery which when disabled will cause the drives to time out and drop out of a RAID array. Since the new WD desktop drives can't have TLER turned on, I'm stuck with their Enterprise disks which are way too expensive. I also lost faith in Seagate thanks to their 7200.11 suckage. What else can I do since Samsung and Maxtor are all brought out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:42 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Western Digital Time-Limited Error Recovery (TLER) with RAID and SE, SE16, GP Models - [H]ard|Forum
That might help you out, I skimmed through it but didnt read it thoroughly. (I remember seeing somewhere that [H] links shouldnt be posted, I don't remember if its forum posts or their reviews so sorry if this breaks the rules.)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:46 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

Yeah I read that too but in the long run I need to new drives to replace the 3x1TB 7200.11. They are already out waiting for RMA so I still need some recommendation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:49 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Hitachi drives have been good to me, a lot better then the old deathstars. I'm sure a few users here can back me up on that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:53 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Yup, love my Hitachis. I have 4 in my rig now I believe, 2x500GB and 2x2TB
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 10:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

This pretty much leads to my next question. With WD & Seagate buying everyone else, are they just rebranding drives or actually keeping the other guy's design?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 11:04 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Currently they're old designs AFAIK, but with all the floods happening they might just start rebranding to cut costs. I think hitachi is the only brand that isn't owned by WD or seagate now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 11:14 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Hitachi GST is owned by Western Digital
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 01:10 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Nothing wrong with Seagate or WD.

I'm running a 2% failure rate on the Seagates, and NOT ONE of them due to the firmware issues that probably never affected anyone here to begin with. I don't have enough of the WD's out there to get a good number but so far none have failed. It does piss me off a bit that they neutered TLER on purpose to make people buy enterprise drives though.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 01:51 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

There's nothing wrong with them in a single drive environment. The problem is that when I plug them into a RAID card. Another user suffered the same problem with his 7200.12 and 3Ware 9K series card (see my other thread). Since 7200.12 is still in production, especially those of lower capacity which I have to RMA anyway, I can't risk plugging them back into the RAID card. For now, I removed the RAID card and will go single drive for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatible? Deano85 CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 19, 2011 08:49 AM
Ram compatible with this motherboard? Modus RAM 7 August 26, 2010 07:08 PM
In need of a PS3 compatible headset. Dar_ell Peripherals 3 August 16, 2010 02:13 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 10:58 AM
Help! old floppy compatible??? Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 17, 2006 12:58 AM