Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 4, 2012, 01:54 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default New High end Build, just need to replace Hard Drives!

Hi all,

I recently went all out on a high rig, but I am still using two dated lowe-end 300gb hard drives -- I'm ready to upgrade my storage components! However, I am a noob and need your assistance.

I am thinking of getting two 64GB SSD's in RAID 0 and hoping for TRIM or maybe drives that would allow TRIM in the future? I don't even know if that makes sense, but please let me know.

I would also like 1 or 2 TB of mass storage HDD's. I recently helped a family member with their new computer purchase, and selected for them:

1 x Buy Seagate [ST2000DM001] Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM SATA3 64MB Cache 3.5IN Internal Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM SATA3 64MB Cache 3.5IN Internal Hard Drive
$203.50

1 x http://www.bestdirect.ca/products/234806/CT064M4SSD2/CRUCIAL%20TECHNOLOGY/Crucial M4 SSD Micron C400 64GB 2.5IN Solid State Disk Flash Drive SATA3 6Gbps
$120
Old January 4, 2012, 02:16 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

SSD should have been first on the list for high end build. What is the purpose of this PC? gaming? multi desktop? Photo/Video editing? 64GB isn't alot of room IMO.
Old January 6, 2012, 01:13 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

I was thinking of 2 64 Gig's, and I am a noob but I read about RAID 0 and TRIM, and was kind of hoping to gain some sort of benefit over getting a single 128gig going this route. I would also like to employ similar tactics on the mass storage, eg. Get 2 1TB's insted of a singel 2TB drive? I actually have plenty of room for drives, as I just upgraded to a Raven 03 case. To answer your question, my pc is mainly for gaming, but not to be prejudice I want the best speed option. I do not want to sacrifice speed for security, becasue my files will not be important enough to justify a comparitive drive.