Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 02:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default Help with Restoring Raid 1 Disks

I had two drives setup as a Raid 1 Using the Marvell Chip on my ASUS P6X58 Motherboard. The Raid system worked fine with no problems until this morning. I had to re-install Windows 7 and after the install, I thought all I had to do was reconnect the Raid drives. Windows is reporting the drives as "Failed" Mirrored disks. Looks like I am missing a step or two, but don't know what to do. Thanks for your help.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 02:47 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

did you initialize the drives in your bios and make sure they say the array is fine?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 03:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
did you initialize the drives in your bios and make sure they say the array is fine?
A ha..no. I think I have to install the Intel Matrix Storage Manager. Will do and provide an update later. Thanks.

Just check again .. I installed the Intel matrix Manager only to find that I do not need the driver since my Raid set was created with the disks connected to the Marvell Chip. I believe the Raid Set was created threough the Windows Disk Manager. The two drives are shown by the Windows Disk Manager as "failed". But I did not do anything other than to reinstall the OS ! Did that nullyfies the Raid Set ?
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.

Last edited by Malam; January 4, 2012 at 04:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 08:05 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

I could not get the Raid set back. I recovered the data from an external backup that I have. I need a better understanding of the way software and hardware Raid works and perhaps what to do in case I need to re-install the OS again. Any ideas where to look ? Thanks.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 12:09 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

At their most basic, RAID works in principal the same way whether it is hardware based or software based. The main difference being all the processing required for compression, parity calculation (encryption if any), drive cueing and such are handled in silicon, offloading those chores from the CPU and providing a noticeable speed improvement at the same time.

"Fake-RAID" is a combination of on chip BIOS instructions and OS drivers that do fundamentally the same thing as a hardware RAID controller but far more cheaply and somewhat slower.

Software RAID does all the operations in software using the CPU to do any needed calculations. Again it does the same fundamentals but more slowly.

The tradeoffs are simple:

1) hardware RAID is fast but costly. Drives configured using one RAID controller generally only function as intended when connected to a controlelr of the same type.
2) fake-RAID is moderately speedy and fairly inexpensive but is more resource hungry and usually quite proprietary to the motherboard or controller card used. Moving disks from one fake-RAID system to another often does not work.
3) software RAID is the slowest option but has the benefot of being very transportable between machines so long as the same OS is in use.

RAID 1 is the simplest form of RAID (disk mirroring). Generally all that you need to do to restore an array (so long as you have one good disk) is to remove the defunct drive, add a new one of equal or greater size (formatting if necessary to the RAID system you're using), add the drive to the array and the RAID hardware and/or software should rebuild the array by creating a copy of the functioning drive to the new one.

If both drives have failed of course the array is irretrievable and must be recreated from scratch.

There are many descritpions on-lien of the various forms of RAID and how they work. A decent set of visual tutorials on the most common RAID levels can be found at JetStor - Visualize Your RAID

Hope it helps some.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 08:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Thanks for a very detailed post, its appreciated. I am leaning towards getting a hardware raid solution because of its indepence from the OS. From your explaination, even if the OS is corrupted or needed to be re-installed or upgraded, the hardware raid array is not affected. The one main variable is the raid controller. One question that I still have though is that if you have a raid array (Raid 1), can the disks be read by windows if they are removed from the array ? Thanks.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does restoring an image degrade SSD? artistpavel Storage 2 September 14, 2011 11:28 AM
Transferring Mirrored Disks silent1mezzo Storage 5 September 3, 2009 09:58 PM
Restoring start menu Zippoh O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 29, 2009 02:02 PM
Restoring files? Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 19, 2009 01:14 PM
WTB: Old computer that uses 5 1/4" floppy disks alexroland Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 20, 2008 10:27 AM