Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 07:09 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default X58 and caching?

Looking at buying an OCZ Synapse 128 GB (there is a weekly special plus reduced tax and free shipping on it for today and tomorrow only so fast replies would be nice)

Questions I'm not easily finding answers to:

Will I still need TRIM to work with a caching drive?
Will caching work on the x58 considering it's a "caching drive"?

I don't particularly want to do a re-install and my games etc are never gonna fit on a 128GB drive
(My steam folder alone is 130 GB, yes I play most of them at least reasonably regularly)

My other option seems to be the OCZ Octane.. I've not heard much about this drive though.. I know it's faster in some circumstances than the Vertex 3 and slower in others. But I haven't a clue about the controller or if it requires trim support or or or..


Basically I would go for a Crucial M4 if it the Octane is not really suitable or if the Synapse won't work (or correctly) without Trim support / z68 etc.

Quick answers, as said, would be appreciated.
(Only drives on offer are ocz, vertex, synapse and octane but the free shipping applies to all drives so could still get an M4 at a reduced cost, though I'll not be thrilled about it not being a caching drive :( )
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 09:04 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

The X58 doesn't do SSD caching like the Z68 boards.

I'd recommend using your new SSD as a boot drive, and using SteamJunction or a Symbolic Link creator. That way you can keep part of your Steam games on the SSD, and the balance on your HDD. This is what I do, and I'd highly recommend SteamJunction. Made by some guy on Shacknews, and it automatically moves the files and creates the symbolic link for you.

EDIT: NVM, I just remembered that the Synapse ships with the caching software. So your SSD will automatically cache the most used 120 GB on your hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 09:48 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Anyone with any experience of an OCZ Synapse can tell me if the lack of Trim will affect it in a bad way?

I'm also going to be buying it from the UK but live in the Ukraine (4 hr flight) so making sure that it will work as supposed to with no issues from Trim is a real must.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 12:06 PM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Anyone with any experience of an OCZ Synapse can tell me if the lack of Trim will affect it in a bad way?

I'm also going to be buying it from the UK but live in the Ukraine (4 hr flight) so making sure that it will work as supposed to with no issues from Trim is a real must.
I thought the Synapse series supported TRIM (on Win7 at least)?

I was positive Synapse supported TRIM.

OCZ Synapse Cache SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

Says it supports TRIM in the Specifications tab.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 01:17 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

As in X 58 does not support trim...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 01:44 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

The X58 does support Trim with the Intel RST drivers.

My concern is that you only get 60gb of caching as the other 60gb is reserved for over-provisioning. I still think you might get better bang for your buck with a regular 128GB SSD as a boot drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD Caching Setup Issue Zelinn Storage 0 December 28, 2011 01:44 PM
Linus, SRT-Caching r2yneth CPU's and Motherboards 4 December 23, 2011 03:15 PM
Intel SRT-Caching Question r2yneth Storage 1 December 7, 2011 09:37 PM
Step-by-step guide to setting up SSD caching on Z68 Eldonko CPU's and Motherboards 20 September 16, 2011 09:40 AM
RST Caching Config Question Lord Babaghan Storage 5 June 24, 2011 10:50 AM