Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 05:56 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default SSD RAID0 Failure

Short Version:
BSOD
SSD in RAID Failed
Bought New SSD
RAID Booted with old SSDs
Old SSD now appears to work fine.
Should I return the new one?

Long Version

Hi everyone, hope you're all well.

Last night, I was coasting along, playing SWTOR, when my internet went out and I disconnected. Oh well, stuff happens, right? So I shut down the game, the computer and head to bed, as Rogers will likely resume service and things will be fine in the morning. That, plus I had been playing for too long!

Anyway, this morning, I logged back on to play a bit more (holidays FTW) and after about 5 minutes, I got a 0x00000f4 BSOD (which I understand is related to hardware). It was a pretty hard BSOD, which did strange things to my BIOS and everything. It disabled my peripherals, including on-board sound and LAN, reset my RAID to SATA and generally put a hurting on my machine.

I reset my overclock to stock (this is a solid, stable 24/7 Prime95, OCCT, LinX tested 4.5 GHz 2133 MHz OC) and tried to get into Windows. I was successful, though I had to turn my peripherals back on in the BIOS.

After that, I figured I'd try firing up the game again at stock settings to see how things would hold up. Sure enough, within about 10 more minutes, I had the same BSOD. When I tried to reboot, my RAID Firmware was telling me that one of my disks had failed and there was no Windows.

My RAID0 consists of two Intel X-25M G2 80GB disks.

So I looked up a bunch of SSDs on my phone, checked some reviews and prices and decided to grab an Intel 510 120GB. I headed downtown to Canada Computers, bought the disk and came home. Before I ripped apart the machine, I decided to boot one more time to write down the serial number of the failed disk reported in the RAID utility, so I could RMA it and keep or sell the other one.

Lo and behold, it booted into Windows. My RAID software in Windows was telling me one of the disks in my array had failed, but I could attempt to reset it. I backed up some key files and reset the disk. It's been working perfectly ever since.

I haven't gone back to my OC yet, opting to remain at stock settings for now, but there have been no hiccups since. So I'm sitting here with this Intel 510 and not sure if I am on borrowed time or what.

Any ideas?
__________________
[SIZE=3]

Last edited by zlojack; December 22, 2011 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 07:52 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

No one? Should I post this in Troubleshooting?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 09:04 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Create an image of you RAID array on your new SSD, that way you have it if your old drives do eventually fail.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 09:52 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well, I was thinking about returning the new one, but if I'm going to lose one of my array drives, anyway, I figured I'd keep it. So I'm wondering if this is a signal of impending death or just a hiccup.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 04:33 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Anyone else with any ideas on this?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 04:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

It could be the SSD that's dying (I think those simply 'die', actually, not over time - I think), or it could be the onboard Raid controller that's about to let go. It would explain the behavior of having a functional OS after a Raid 0 failure... I'd back-up the OS very quickly, and either run on a single drive, or change the controller.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 09:30 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

So I should keep the new drive I bought and prepare to deploy it? I haven't reset my OC since then and I've had no issues. I'm almost tempted to run....stock...

I don't know if I can...
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 08:07 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Also, I can't change the controller, because it's just the on-board controller.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 08:17 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I could help you with this if you posted more details.

What Character are you playing?

Which server?

Have you joined any Guilds yet?

I kid. Could be a RAID hiccup caused by the blue screen. Do you have a 15 or 30 day return policy on the new SSD. I would hold onto the new one until then and see if your array gives you any more grief. And back up your disk.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 08:19 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

7-day return policy :)

I'm running a backup right now, though I don't really have much installed on it that would be too painful to reinstall.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SRT, RAID0, and ReadyBoost Skippman Storage 3 October 11, 2011 04:46 PM
TRIM w/ RAID0 ?? Someone? Beastylemon Storage 3 September 29, 2011 09:20 PM
HDD failure or Motherboard failure? Polygon Troubleshooting 3 December 4, 2010 08:48 PM
3 SSD 64GB's In Raid0(edit 3 drives In Raid0 results + Pictures) CoolHandL Storage 6 July 23, 2010 11:10 PM