Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 03:40 PM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default Want to format SSD and re-install Win7 - anything special I need to do?

As the title says I want to format my SSD and do a fresh install of Win 7.

I have an OCZ Vertex 2 120 extended. I have platter drives for storage and the SSD is mainly OS.

I've done this dozens of times with platter drives but I'm not sure about the process with SSD if it is any different.

I did a format and reinstall a month or so ago and my SSD speeds were much slower at boot but I can't say I noticed a speed difference in games or other apps.

My old proceedure to re-install windows would be to
1) insert the DVD and boot from there.
2) When the install DVD came to select the drive to install to I would tell windows to format the drive first (full format) and then proceed with the install.

Do I need to do it differently with an SSD?
Is there a special format app I should use rather than the win7 format?
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:04 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Just do it normally. With Windows 7 there is nothing you need to do.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:06 PM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Just do it normally. With Windows 7 there is nothing you need to do.
Thank you lowfat.

Will proceed as normal.
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:17 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

From what I've read, don't forget to have AHCI enabled in the BIOS.

Read the SSD sticky for more detail.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:41 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

get current whql drivers for hardware burn to a disk use F6 install
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 9, 2011 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 04:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
From what I've read, don't forget to have AHCI enabled in the BIOS.

Read the SSD sticky for more detail.
This is a good idea. It can usually be remedied if you forget though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
get current whql drivers for hardware burn to a disk use F6 install
Not really necessary. Just install the latest drivers after the install is done.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 11:28 AM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Thanks gentlemen :)

I am just finishing up the format install process I started last night... had do do it several times to get it right.
I do have AHCI active in the BIOS.

Reason it took so long is a problem with windows updates. It is the same reason I did the format in the first place but I didn't know the update was responsible until last night.
When I update to Explorer 9 or Win7 updates or from service pack update (don't know where it comes from)...
Something screws up with explorer and it thinks there is a malicious add-on that is improperly accessing RAM. PITA as I couldn't get rid of it and so I did the format... just to discover it's windows itself that causes the error. :/
My system was bare when I started to get the error again (only the mobo drivers installed and nVidia display driver) right after doing the update.
Was an extra PITA because I was making the SSD clean for everyday boot drive and also an old 34gb Raptor drive I have as an emergency boot drive. So the Windows updates had me jumping through hoops to format/install 4 different times (twice where I did the updates and twice more where I'm not doing the updates) = lol
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force GT 120Gb Win7 install woes... Andy Storage 4 August 20, 2011 09:26 AM
mkv format help ! homer98 HTPC Systems & Software 10 March 29, 2011 09:45 PM
an other ssd/win7 install/clone question Patramix Storage 9 April 12, 2010 05:43 PM
Fresh Win7 Install on SSD Hunt Storage 8 April 11, 2010 05:27 AM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM