Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 11:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default Seagate 7200.12 shaking my HDD tray

I have a seagate 1tb 7200.12, and it is terribly loud and shaky. Every time it does a seek, I can hear it rattle the HDD tray it's mounted on.

I have this mounted in an R3, so it already has grommets placed on where the HDD is mounted on the tray, so now it instead rattles the tray and the tray slot and making this annoying noise.

Are 7200.12 normally this violent in it's operation? What should I do to dampened the rattling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 11:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 41
Default

I personally never used this hdd before but if you're 100% sure it is decoupled and vibration dampers and such are installed correctly but the hard drive is still terribly loud, it might be a sign of the hdd failing. Try running benchmarks and tests like HD Tune and see if the results are normal for your drive, hopefully it might just be something loose in your case around that area.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 12:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Earlier Fractal cases were notorious for build quality issues. It's supposedly fixed with the newer cases like the R3, but I've seen that they're still prone to shipping damage. Sounds like your drive cage is bent/warped.

Either contact Fractal or go for a true suspension mount. SPCR has some info on suspending your drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 08:22 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Test it -- take the drive out of the cage and put it on the desk. If it's moving enough to rattle, rather than hum, then you're probably looking at a mechanical failure. A friend went through four 1TB 7200.12 drives because they failed mechanically. Far as I could guess, the platter and spindle were wobbling as they spun. The drives would walk themselves across the desk like a cell phone on vibrate.

Running an error check via SeaTools also threw up error codes. The drives eventually became inaccessible, so I'd look at backing up your data now, then testing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 09:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

Thanks for the tips! Funny enough, my hard drive did clunk out several months ago due to a maligned head, and last week it started working again. Maybe I should've said this in my first post
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 10:57 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,091

My System Specs

Default

Get your data off it and RMA it now. It's about to fail.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 08:29 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 483
Default

The 2x1TB seagates I have do make alot of hum vibration noise, just over a yr old now. Is it normal, not really but they're $45 drives once upon a time ago. Duplicate drives are a must for data you don't want to loose regardless of what manufacturer drive you have.

The coffee grinder sound on hdds can be lack of enough power, incase that's also happening.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 10:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

I was going to RMA the drive, but it started working right when I plugged it back in for diagnostic codes. So far, it's not pulling any codes, and Seagate requires trouble codes before I can RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 11:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

I just processed the Seagate RMA (it's clicking like mad), I decided to opt for the advanced rma option for 10 bucks.

The package includes: Them mailing you a replacement first, then sending you a box with a prepaid label to send back your defective one.

Since paying for shipping and appropriate packaging supplies will cost me around that much, it looked like a good deal. Do you guys think this is worth it?

Last edited by geoc; December 11, 2011 at 11:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 11:46 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

If you're spending the same amount to get faster results, why not?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So my 4th Seagate 7200.11 HDD Died Pansophic Storage 13 December 20, 2010 08:39 AM
[FS] Seagate 7200.11 1.5tb drive, Fresh from RMA arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 1 January 8, 2010 05:30 PM
De-bricking a Seagate 7200.11 Dr_BenD_over Guides & How-to's 1 January 7, 2010 01:15 PM
Seagate 7200.10 drives 486 Storage 16 November 10, 2008 01:44 PM
Seagate Momentus 7200.1 vs 7200.2 vs 7200.3 2.5" Laptop HD Comparison Oversized Rooster Storage 2 September 3, 2008 11:46 AM