Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 08:43 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default Data travler USB port question

I use a 8gb data traveler to move video files off of my Computer to a media player in the other room , today I plugged in the Data traveler into a Multi port USB adapter and a message popped up saying that I would get faster speeds is I plugged the Data traveler into a USB2 port. How do I figure out which port is USB2 or USB3?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 09:21 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Typically USB3 has a blue connector, also I have run into issues with USB hubs / splitters that where USB2 yet my computer tagged it as a USB1 device due to it not receiving enough power from the PC to support all the devices connected.

There may be USB3 ports out there that don't use the blue color scheme, I just haven't seen any yet.

__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 11:17 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

Hmm ok , I guess that if I look at my MB manual and plug my USB hub into the USB3 port I will have USB3 ? when I bought the Hub Last year I never thought about compatibility I wonder if this really matters for USB hubs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 11:44 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
Hmm ok , I guess that if I look at my MB manual and plug my USB hub into the USB3 port I will have USB3 ? when I bought the Hub Last year I never thought about compatibility I wonder if this really matters for USB hubs.
Only if it is a usb3.0 hub, again got to have the blue usb ports or it isnt usb3.0
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 12:44 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

darn I really wished I new this before I bought it last year lol, is there a way for me to test what the Hub is?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 07:44 PM
Drain port martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 21 June 14, 2010 06:37 PM
Display Port to Dvi adapter Question Arinoth CPU's and Motherboards 6 June 7, 2010 09:53 PM
2-port KVM w/ USB JD Peripherals 3 February 5, 2010 08:42 PM
A-Data s592 question gingerbee Storage 16 September 2, 2009 11:23 AM