Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:20 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default How can I clear my HDD's?

I have 2 320gb Samsung spinpoint hard drives that I would like to completely wipe so they can be sold on here or kijiji. The only problem is that the computer they were hooked up to has been parted out partially. How can I go about running a program like boot and nuke?

Can anyone help me out I've never done this before and don't want to accidentally nuke my SSD boot drive. :P
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:24 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Have a look at this post , you should be able to just hook them up to your existing rig and wipe them with the program of your choice.
Reminder: Properly Wipe Storage Devices Before Selling
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:40 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

Yeah that's where I got the idea. I am just unsure about the process. Is it really just as simple as connect the power and sata cables and then run the program or do I have to make any bios changes or ?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

it's as simple as that.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:58 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
it's as simple as that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
Yeah that's where I got the idea. I am just unsure about the process. Is it really just as simple as connect the power and sata cables and then run the program or do I have to make any bios changes or ?

Thanks.
Yup just hook them up power on they should be detected by windows with a popup window. Open the program of your choice point it to the drives do your thing.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 12:03 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

Awesome I'm in Eraser right now, just hooked em up. A strange thing though. One of the drives is partitioned. Do I need to do anything special first?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 12:15 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

I keep getting this message

Status Completed with Errors
Error The program does not have the required permissions to erase the unused space on disk. Run the program as an administrator and retry the option.

I tried running it as an admin and still nothing :(. Googling for a solution right now.

*edit again. I'm a noob I didnt fully close the program was just xing out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Mod] Clear Sky Complete artistpavel Gaming 4 May 6, 2010 07:21 AM
WP7S are more clear now martin_metal_88 Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 April 4, 2010 10:41 AM
Clear QAM sam101p5 HTPC Systems & Software 0 July 5, 2009 01:19 PM
Had to clear CMOS... why? somecanadianguy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 June 6, 2009 09:24 AM
STALKER Clear Sky + 1080p? Not possible? lowfat Gaming 0 December 3, 2008 07:32 PM