Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2011, 05:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default IDE Hard Drive

i'm planning to add a second hard drive to an old pc is it possible to connect hard drive on the same ide cable that the dvd drive is on?would that work

the way the case is setup dvd is on top of floppy drive(panning to replace floppy with second hard drive) and to the right of the dvd is the primary hard drive. no other mounting options for this case

i've read you can't connect a hard drive to the floppy connection because hard drive=40pins and floppy=34pin so that is probably not an option

Compaq Evo D51S Small Form Factor
Compaq Evo Desktop D510 845G - World Wide QuickSpecs
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2011, 05:41 AM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

IDE drives typically have a jumper to set master/slave on the IDE bus, so as long as your dvd drive is set to a slave and your hard drive to master, you won't have any problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2011, 06:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

great i'll try that as soon as i get the second hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 10:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I've connected a HDD and ODD (optical drive) to the same IDE cable before. If you can, set the jumpers to master / slave appropriately and don't rely on Cable Select (I know a few older IBMs go nuts if you try to make them decide). Also don't forget that the device connected to the very end of the IDE cable is always the master (slave is connected to the header the comes out somewhere in the middle of the cable). If you run the ODD as master and the HDD as slave, you may have lower performance, but it's not really noticeable unless you have a very old ODD or one of the faster hard drives, like a WD Caviar SE16.

You are correct the floppy and hard drive / ODD are different interfaces.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 11:35 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you use an 80 wire IDE cable for the hard drive, as the 40 wires can't support as high a bandwidth and may become a bottleneck.



Also note that if you have two hard drives on the same cable, transferring files between them will go very slow. If you have two IDE connectors on your motherboard, one will probably be blue and one black. The blue is primary and your main drive should be attached to this channel.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD as boot drive Hard drive as storage Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 0 September 27, 2011 12:57 PM
Hard drive help plz noob1 Storage 2 August 20, 2011 12:09 AM
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 04:24 PM
Why I always buy WD hard drive botat29 Off Topic 10 April 12, 2011 09:11 AM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM