Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:18 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default Two HDDs, Both with OSs on Them

My problem is that my current PC (listed in my specs) is broken, and I can't seem to find the issue, so I ordered brand new parts for a whole new build. But, I had some important documents and family photos on that HDD, which has Windows Vista 64-bit OEM installed on it (so I can't connect it to my new rig). So I was wondering if I could instal Windows 7 on my new HDD, plug in the old one, boot from the Windows 7 one, then transfer files from the old one (which still has Win Vista installed)? Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:19 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it'll work no problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

just set the boot drive in the BIOS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:38 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Thank you guys so much. Much appreciated. =D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid 0 two HDDs vs One SSD Remy_85 Storage 2 June 19, 2011 12:04 PM
6GB/s HDDs worthless? Stubby Storage 6 December 17, 2010 05:45 AM
[WTB] HDDs Infiniti Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 23, 2009 07:34 PM
how many hdds for raid kyle_L Storage 15 February 9, 2009 08:49 PM
One of my HDDs broke tom.mullie Storage 4 June 6, 2008 04:31 PM