Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 05:08 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default Is it possible to have 2 raid arrays on 1 chipset?

I want to buy another 500GB drive to raid with my games and applications drive, i already have 2 intel SSDs in RAID0, is it possible to have a second array on the same chipset?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 05:15 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Short answer: Yes

Longer answer: As long as the extra ports are on the same Raid controller, then you should be able to add additional arrays.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 06:02 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Intel usually has 4 ports which will allow 2 arrays in a mirrored setup and I think stripe.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 06:21 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

This is an nvidia chipset, and i want to run 2 striped arrays.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 06:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Eww wouldn't trust nvidia to raid.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 07:25 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Nor would i, but if it works, whatever. Haven't had any issues with RAID so far, just wondering if its possible to have two arrays. :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 07:43 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Nor would i, but if it works, whatever. Haven't had any issues with RAID so far, just wondering if its possible to have two arrays. :P
Well you just pooched yourself with that statement you do realize.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:36 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

What mobo are you using? Most mid and upper boards have 2 sata controllers. Mine (EVGA X58) has 4 ports on the intel ichr10 and 2 ports the jmicron jm363. You can plug the mech drives into the other controllers ports and use it's raid. Better performance.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 02:38 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

M2N-E, it only has the nvidia chipset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 11:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,516

My System Specs

Default

yes it works fine, you can do two different arrays as long you have 4 different ports that are on the controller for the raid. on Nvidia boards usually they are in red.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Chipset Driver Brings TRIM Support to RAID Setups FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 11 October 3, 2010 10:30 PM
Raid 0 on the SB750 Chipset Review Junglebizz Storage 8 June 5, 2009 02:18 PM
CPU + Chipset enaberif Water Cooling 10 January 23, 2009 11:48 PM
Bandwith vs modern raid arrays tzetsin Storage 2 July 19, 2008 05:01 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM