Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 09:45 AM
Nexitus's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Well according to the motherboard linked. His chipset is only a ICH10 Base which does not support RAID, if it was the ICH10R, then he would have RAID through the motherboard, which is not the case.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 09:46 AM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

^ On page 88 of the manual it says I have ICH10R

Well I was planning on getting two new blacks as this current one has some errors I'm a little worried about, so I'm pretty safe with reformatting and such I'm just hoping I don't need a floppy drive. I think I'll go ask on the gigabyte forums to see if it's possible without a floppy drive, I'm not against buying one but I will probably always run XP and such. So I'll check there yeah, If anyone has an idea here feel free to post it. Still looking for help at the moment!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 12:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

but if you said will not boot from it so you don't have to worry for the drivers. You just build the matrix and supply the drivers from an HDD location after restart. If you want to make it bootable : for win 7 you can supply the drivers at the moment of install from a USB drive, for Win XP you need to create a custom installation disk, you need to use nLite software, in this way you can integrate the Intel raid drivers in the boot image and you don't need to complicate your life too much with the ancient floppy disk.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 08:06 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
but if you said will not boot from it so you don't have to worry for the drivers. You just build the matrix and supply the drivers from an HDD location after restart. If you want to make it bootable : for win 7 you can supply the drivers at the moment of install from a USB drive, for Win XP you need to create a custom installation disk, you need to use nLite software, in this way you can integrate the Intel raid drivers in the boot image and you don't need to complicate your life too much with the ancient floppy disk.
Ok so let me get this straight, I can grab the two raid driver files off the motherboard main disk, and make it bootable with nLite? How do I exactly do it on nLite, never heard or tried it before...Would tossing in the motherboard disk maybe work?...At the gigabyte forums they said I could more then likely use a flash drive for XP.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 01:48 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Well a update, I've ordered the two hard drives and the gigabyte forums said I could even just insert the giga cd to get the drivers off it. So yeah, wish me luck on my first raid configuration ever.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid 1 question Nevakonaza Storage 4 January 12, 2011 05:36 PM
raid 0 question tanin Storage 1 May 19, 2010 11:20 AM
Another Raid 0 SSD question micul Storage 4 May 9, 2010 11:08 AM
Raid question Olorin Storage 12 January 25, 2010 11:09 PM
Raid Question Chromey Storage 10 January 14, 2010 04:34 AM