Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 01:57 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default Computer can't find HD

Hi all. I just tried to install a 1TB Hard Drive in my PC. It currently only has a 120GB SSD as the boot drive and also to put my primary games.

I connected the power and the sata 3 6gb/s cord to HD, power supply and mobo. I can find the drive in the bios, and I can find the drive in the device manager, but when I go to my computer it doesn't show up under Hard Disk Drives like my SSD does. I also did a system test to try and register for the Diablo 3 beta and the HDD did not show up in there either. Can anyone help me resolve this?

THanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 02:28 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I figured it out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 05:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

out of interest, was it that it had no drive path assigned? or what was the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 06:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
out of interest, was it that it had no drive path assigned? or what was the problem?
Case of a question that still gets answered a billion times..

Didn't initialize the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 09:11 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

To be honest I am not sure what was wrong. I had to go into the Disk Management and allocate the drive? I was just confused because the bios recognized the drive so did the disk manager but it wasn't showing up as its own drive or partition in the "computer" menu in windows 7.

Gimme a break I'm a noob to all this. :P I guess I should have just done 5 more minutes of google-fu instead of asking so quickly here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2011, 10:49 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

it happens to the best of us lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] FIND... Thanks Alpine Buy/Sell & Trade 8 March 23, 2011 09:55 AM
can't find it! LacrosseTown Power Supplies 9 May 16, 2010 09:40 PM
Where could I find this Meefa Audio 7 March 11, 2010 09:01 PM
Where can I find... ImmaPC Air Cooling 9 April 20, 2009 09:07 AM
Setup did not find any hard disks installed on your computer the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 May 26, 2008 10:48 PM