Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 07:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Bashing a product is always fun.
Sharing a good experience is just as much fun.

I got my drive today.
Did a bit of research to copy my 80gb drive over to my new 1tb drive so I wouldn't have to re-install everything.
Free copy or clone hard drive with free backup software - EaseUS Todo Backup Free.

The software above made it a piece of cake, a walk in the park, or you can use whatever expression you prefer.

My steps:
Plugged in the drive
Researched the topic
Downloaded and installed the software mentioned above
Followed the instruction on the page I linked to
35 minutes later(right now), I'm running from my new drive.

I did not initialise the new drive prior to running EaseUs Todo Backup.
I did exacly the steps above.
I don't know if it's a known software, but I know I just used it and I think it's great and free!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 08:02 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 954
Default

I've always used Acronis to image drives but this looks pretty good. Will be checking it out. Thanks
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2011, 08:27 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

I like the one little dock I have at work. Just plug in the source drive and then plug in the target drive. Select dup on the switch and hit start, no computer required. It does a bit by bit copy so really the only stipulation is that the target drive has to be the same or bigger in size. All in all a great little tool, oh and it can connect using USB so it works as a dual dock when not cloning drives.

But at home I use acronis. As for the drives I generally stick with WD now (black if needed for a games drive, green for media storage) as I got burned bad from the Seagate 7200.11 drives. Hell have 3 of them sitting here waiting to go back, and yes 2 of those are already replacements.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] WD1001FALS WD Caviar Black 1TB 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 21 April 10, 2010 10:37 AM
2xWD Caviar Black 640 GB or 1x WD Caviar Black 1T Mulder Storage 4 December 19, 2009 03:17 PM
WD Caviar Black 640gb Jonwall Storage 27 May 16, 2009 06:28 PM