Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 02:56 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default 10 Terabyte RAID

Title says it all, I'm wondering the best way to setup/what I need for a RAID storage that has a capacity of 10TB for archiving/preserving media files.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 08:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 167
Default

RAID6, eight 2TB drives and call it a day? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2011, 08:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

raid 5 or 6
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2011, 06:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 25
Default

I wonder if you guys suggest a hardware or software RAID. I currently have a large library (not quite 10TB, but getting there ;)) and occasionally I keep getting some problems which are hard for me to diagnose - it may be XFS that's misbehaving, or maybe the hardware RAID card is failing (it's a 3Ware). I don't really care for speed too much - it's only an archive after all, but I want a single large volume and I want protection of hardware failure.

I hear some people say that with hardware RAID a dead raid card can be extremely difficult to recover from, especially if you cannot obtain an identical one to replace it with. Is that true? Never had to recover from such a thing yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 06:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaza101 View Post
I wonder if you guys suggest a hardware or software RAID. I currently have a large library (not quite 10TB, but getting there ;)) and occasionally I keep getting some problems which are hard for me to diagnose - it may be XFS that's misbehaving, or maybe the hardware RAID card is failing (it's a 3Ware). I don't really care for speed too much - it's only an archive after all, but I want a single large volume and I want protection of hardware failure.

I hear some people say that with hardware RAID a dead raid card can be extremely difficult to recover from, especially if you cannot obtain an identical one to replace it with. Is that true? Never had to recover from such a thing yet.
Should be safe replacing a dead raid card with a card from at least the same manufacturer. LSI bought 3Ware and has continued the brand so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 01:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,499

My System Specs

Default

i guess that kind of protection that you are looking for could be achieved just by keeping a second card close by, and I mean an identical card of what you have. Otherwise, if the raid is of level 5 or 6 you should not worry about the HDDs failing, raid 5/6 can operate in a degraded state also, with one hdd down.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 01:25 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

Just remember RAID is not a backup solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 12:19 AM
Seagate Unveils World?s First Hard Drive Featuring 1 Terabyte Per Platter Gav Press Releases & Tech News 9 May 5, 2011 10:36 AM
howdoes 1 terabyte per second sound to you??!!! LacrosseTown Press Releases & Tech News 12 August 1, 2010 08:33 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM