Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 08:14 AM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Question Does anyone have a working OCZ SSD?

I just got the OCZ Agility 3 120gb. Had it for a week, still up and running, no BSOD or anyhting.
BUT, EVERY SINGLE REVIEW I read, is about death within days.

Does anyone here have a working OCZ SSD?
If so, how long have you had it, and how many crashes/BSOD's do you experience?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 08:27 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I have a Vertex 2 and it is fine. Had it for around 6 months. Currently being used as a caching SSD
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 08:48 AM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Default

Experience any BSOD's in the beginning? (I'm guessing you used it for your OS at some point)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 08:55 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah it has been used as a OS HD 5 of the 6 months Ive had it. Never had any errors or bsod.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 08:58 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 987

My System Specs

Default

Been using a Vertex 3 120GB on my ASUS P8P67-B3 Deluxe as my OS drive. Win7 64bit.
No issues after I set my SATA 6G port to hot plug enabled. It stuttered on heavy I/O before I changed the setting.
Still running on the original launch firmware.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 09:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Vertex 2, been good for a year.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 09:37 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

Vertex 2 in my desktop running Windows 7 for about a year now and a Vertex 1 in my laptop also running Windows 7 for around 1.5 years. No issues at all.

Agility and Solid models do use lesser quality components, so that could be why they die sooner? I know the free OCZ Onyx I got died within a few months, but I RMA'd it and it's been fine since.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 11:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 407

My System Specs

Default

Have vertex2 50gb as my linux drive since March. Boots in 22 seconds, including log in and password. No problem at all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 11:42 AM
Beastylemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 126

My System Specs

Default

@zoob, i think ive seen Hot Plug on my mobo, what does it do?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 11:55 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,920

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastylemon View Post
@zoob, i think ive seen Hot Plug on my mobo, what does it do?
So you can remove and plug in hard drives while the system was on.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMP not working Rison HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 January 24, 2011 08:35 AM
What am I working on? DenisS HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 20, 2010 06:10 PM
Sfc not working odis172 Troubleshooting 8 June 19, 2009 11:57 PM
Help! CPU fan not working! Waldie Troubleshooting 29 May 4, 2009 09:55 AM
New and Not sure this is working. l-lunter HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 April 21, 2009 03:41 PM