Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 10:29 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default Hard drive help plz

im upgrading my pc motherboard and cpu and want to know if i can use my old hard drive it got wins 7 but im buying a new copy of win 7 and was thinking if i can just erase everything on the hard drive and then just install the new copy of win 7,will that work?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 10:55 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Generally, changing the motherboard means that you must reinstall the OS. You will be able to erase everything from the hard drive and install windows 7 on the newly erased hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2011, 12:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

similar chipsets no need to reload windows

personally i reload windows 3 times a year no matter what
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 04:24 PM
Why I always buy WD hard drive botat29 Off Topic 10 April 12, 2011 09:11 AM
[WTB] Hard Drive flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 20, 2010 10:16 AM
WTB: IDE Hard Drive cms Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 10, 2008 03:10 PM
ftp to Hard drive opj38 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 10, 2007 10:39 AM