Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 06:45 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,308
Default

OCZ Vertex 3 MI, Pat Wildfire, Mushin Chronos Deluxe (not regular chronos) are the the 3 that I can think of, off the top of my head. But there's prolly a couple more out there :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 06:46 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
ioXtreme was Fusion-IO's only prosumer SSD and it was only offered for a limited time.
Yea dammit.S'all good tho.

--

I wondered if that was'nt a typo AkG...heheh....and yea , I've paid serious cash for d9 ram etc, so I understand the whole 'internals' thang.

----

So here's some more questions.

I want the fastest OS drive I can get , with room for apps that need C: , but I also want near instant recovery from a failure.

So is something like raid 0+1 or 5 better , or would a single fast ssd with an imaged backup be better ?

Raid cards ?

thoughts ?

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2011, 06:54 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,308
Default

Hmm. Thats a tough one. I mean if moneys NO OBJECT...damn....plenty of choices! Talk to lowfat about some of the PCI-E'ers coming down the pipe. Would be my first inclination. ;)

OR get a say a 12 (or higher) PCIE card raid array controller with a BEEFY onboard controller and a crap ton of onboard memory...and battery...and drop a crap ton of M4s 256'ers on it in a 1+0 / 0+1 / 10 (depending on what it does). No worries about lack of TRIM as the "itgc/bgc" will keep the array flying. No worries about a SSD dieing (it does happen) as the raid array would cover it....and dont forget to sell a kidney, two arms, a leg, first born child, a left testicle...and maybe your right one as well for it. :)~

More realistic...single 240GB SF2281 or 256GB M4. Killer speed, relatively inexpensive....and clone the mofo'er, with continuous backup via say Acronis TI.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 04:04 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

Yep.

I've looked into it......a decent 3-ware card , and 3 vertex 3's is over 2 grand anyways.

I think I'll just start with 1 good ssd and run acronis.Seems like the best option for now.

I do want to hear about upcoming pci-e solutions tho lowfat !

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 04:52 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,038

My System Specs

Default

3ware....no. For SSD's you stick w/ Areca or the newer LSI cards. Everything else has way too much latency and generally hurt performance. LSI 9265-8i and a whole bunch of 40GB Intel 320s or 20GB Intel 311's would be my choice if you wanted to do the RAID thing.

The Intel 720 PCIe SSD should be out within the next couple of months and it should decimate. However I expect the price to be north of $3000 since it uses SLC.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 06:14 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

I am using the Force 3 240GB and have Acronis keeping it backed up so at the most I would lose two days if the drive failed.

I know that Memory Express has a good price on the MaxIOPs 240GB, I think it is on for $529. That is what I would go with now over the one I got.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does SATA III in RAID 0 (on non-SSD) out performing SATA II in RAID 0 (on non-SSD)? SmallWhiteDragon Storage 15 July 19, 2011 12:19 AM
SATA II HDDs in a SATA III port ivanlyf_2011 Storage 6 April 6, 2011 05:32 PM
[WTT] Toronto: 2 sata data and 1 sata power cable 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 11, 2010 09:09 AM
[FS] WTT/WTS DVD's for cash/sata optical drive/sata hdd's/ Geforce 9800 or better The MAX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 16, 2009 04:22 PM
WD 640 Black SATA ....Not SATA 2 rjbarker Storage 10 January 19, 2009 11:40 PM