Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 12:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default My first SSD: Smart cache or system disk?

Hello all! I just received hardware for my system and I need your help to decide what to do with my first SSD disk ever.

Its this one: Crucial M4 SSD Micron C400 64GB 2.5IN Solid State Disk Flash Drive SATA3 6Gbps

Now, my Z68 motherboard has "smart response" which allows it to use a SSD drive to speed up the most used files on my computer.

Worth mentioning I use 4 disks total, totalling about 6 terrabytes, but only the system data and my games are worth speeding up. I have a few hundred gigs of games so I cant put them all on the SSD, but I could put the OS there.

I assume putting the OS on the SSD would speed it up quite a bit. Oh the other hand, I assume the Smart system would speed up games more. Finally, I guess I could split it, 32 go for the cache and 32 go for the OS drive... would that even work?

What would you recommend? Anyone tried both?

Thanks for any info :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 12:38 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

If your OS and games are on the same HD (diff partitions ok) then definitely set up caching. Why just speed up the OS when you can speed up both?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 12:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
If your OS and games are on the same HD (diff partitions ok) then definitely set up caching. Why just speed up the OS when you can speed up both?
Yes, the OS and the games are on two partitions of the same disk.

Im just wondering if having the OS on a 7200rpm drive quickened by the smart cache will be anywhere as fast as putting the whole OS on the SSD? If so, then that would indeed be a no-brainer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 12:56 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately I haven't seen a proper review of SSD caching yet. Reviewers are testing with SSD benchmarks but that isn't what SSD caching is good for. It is good for actual real world applications.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 01:08 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Here is caching vs no caching and as you can see the difference is huge. However it doesnt show caching vs SSD only. I would guess that those numbers would be close so I guess the question is do you want your system to boot slightly faster or your games and apps to be faster as well.

Intel Z68 Review - The Sandy Bridge Platform Expands
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 01:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

That makes sense.

And only a single HDD can benefit from the caching right?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 01:13 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Yep, you choose which hd to speed up when you set up caching. Make sure the drive you want to accelerate is on an Intel SATA port and install the OS in RAID mode or you will run into issues.

EDIT - Also grab the latest RST driver from intel. 10.​6.​0.​1022 is the latest version and it can be found here: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sear...age+Technology
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.

Last edited by Eldonko; August 17, 2011 at 01:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 01:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Don't suppose you know if you can only use a single SSD to cache? And can you cache an array of HDD's?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 02:00 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

You can cache 1 thing, either a single HD or a RAID array. RAID 0, 1, 5, 10 work but it cant be a matrix array. I havent tried it personally but that's what I read anyway. Was that the question?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 02:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Yup. Looks like I may have to try out a Z68 system after all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build - Large partitioned SDD for cache vs smaller faster cache SSD? selborne New Builds 2 May 29, 2011 03:08 PM
"disk boot failure insert system disk" plutomok Troubleshooting 3 May 30, 2010 01:13 PM
How to change the letter drive of the system disk? francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 1, 2009 01:21 PM
Disk Boot Failure - Insert system disk and press enter? lanken123 Troubleshooting 5 May 13, 2009 07:23 AM
gg ? possibly? (system book disk error) Cadence Troubleshooting 11 May 8, 2009 02:48 PM