Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 09:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default WD20EARS-00MVWB0 WMAZA vs WCAZA

hey ak, besides manufacturer date and s/n, what is the difference between the two?

so far i see the latter running bout 2c warmer, but that could be a sensor, drive placement in the case and so on :)

Last edited by _dangtx_; August 8, 2011 at 09:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 09:28 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,385
Default

Honestly, havent heard one way or the other that there IS any differences. When you drill down that far into the model number you are getting into minor revision territory (usually). Could be as simple as a dif firmware revision being loaded on them. Dif revision of the PCB being used, dif ram/controller/drive controller chip....etc etc. Hell it could even be something as stupid as a dif mfg'er of a sub-assembly part.

Honestly, 2C variation could easily be put down to small sample size error, or dif sensor mfg'er being used, etc...or I have missed something important and am way of base. :)~

Maybe somebody else has heard something more concrete one way or the other and can enlighten us all :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 09:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. firmare is the same. aka : Revision 51.0AB51

cool. was curious since all the 2tb greens i got were wmaza

and i made a mistake. the wcaza is running 2 c warmer.

editing thread title.


edit : when do you reckon we should see 4tb drives? samsung apparently has denied
the rumours,which makes me think they are still working on it.

and since they showed 1tb pl.atter hard drives at work, shouldn't be too hard to cram 4 in a 3.5" drive :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 11:20 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

Samsung doesn't make HDDs.
And 4TB drives won't be cost effective for years, 3TB drives are still way to much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 11:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Samsung doesn't make HDDs.
And 4TB drives won't be cost effective for years, 3TB drives are still way to much.
samsung 4tb - Google Search

true on the cost,but still would be cool. dont think one of those would eat twice the power of 2tb units,plus
the space saved and such.

edit : Maximum PC | Samsung Hits 1TB per Platter

"
For its part, Samsung claims the current process technology should allow them to start cranking out 10TB drives without too much trouble, and I for one can’t wait.
"


good god
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5K3000 2TB or WD20EARS 2TB? upcoast604 Storage 2 June 20, 2011 11:43 AM
WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 _dangtx_ Storage 12 April 5, 2011 10:26 PM
Quiet 2TB Raid 1 ??Wd20EARS??? dustin1706 Storage 10 July 8, 2010 04:12 PM