Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2011, 03:35 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 664

My System Specs

Default corair f60 sata2. first time using a ssd, need help

Hi all,

I picked up this drive to comiment my new set up. I have never owned or used a ssd before. I installed windows on it and it works great. However it only has 60 gig capacity meaning I cannt install more than 2 games at a time. I tried using my raptor 150 gig drive as a secondary drive and tried installing the games on it. It worked, however when I try ro play a game, the game runs super slowly or just freezes everything. However when I install the same game for example dirt 3, I have no problems. Is there somrthing I need in bios or something to make this work?

Here is my setup:

Ga-Z68x-Ud5-B3
I7 2600K clocked to 4.5 ghz
Cp 850 watts psu.



Let me know please I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2011, 04:22 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Did you install drivers?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2011, 04:33 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 664

My System Specs

Default

Yess off gigabyte's site
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2011, 05:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

Not sure I understand what the problem you're having...you're having trouble playing games that are on your raptor but it installs fine right?

It might be that your hard drive is dying, try running HDTune and check it's health / scan for errors.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2011, 06:00 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 664

My System Specs

Default

Yea I don't think the raptor is the issue, I just tried installing the game on my other hard drive, which is a wd black tb 7200 rpm and same issue. The games install fine but just wont run from the 2ndary drives. I can only run games for some reason dirctly from ssd and thats all. :(
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 05:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

I have 2 of these in RAID0 as my C drive. This setup enables me to store more games, and doubles the read speed and write speed. Make sure you use AMD RAIDXpert to enable NCQ.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2011, 05:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Before I got my second F60 for the RAID0 setup, I used to install some games on my D drive (which is a regular Hitachi hard drive). The games ran well, just didn't load as fast as the games installed on the SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mechanical vs ssd : the test of time! _dangtx_ Storage 6 April 12, 2011 12:59 PM
Corsair F60 or Vertex 2 60GB Modus Storage 6 September 28, 2010 02:34 PM
SSD sata2 & sata3 mobo Dan Storage 3 April 16, 2010 01:03 PM
it's time for a SSD MarkOne Storage 26 December 25, 2009 01:47 PM