Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 08:40 AM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default Tremble at my 2000+ Mbps Transfer rate

Tribulate and fear the speed from my ultra fast, low capacity drive of mystery!
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 09:24 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

1GB????? I'm assuming somebody set up a virtual drive using ram???
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 09:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i guess the ms thingie is not accurate enough for this application? :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 12:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

My guess is also towards RAM disk, especially given that extremely high CPU usage number. (although HDTune always shows CPU usage as -1%, negative, for me )
Unless PCI-E 2.0 x32 or PCI-E I/O controllers exist??? I wouldn't be surprised though, after poking FPGAs for a few months and hearing about some outrageous things various research groups are doing to squeeze even more gigabits / second out of everything that there's a reason to make faster.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 12:50 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default



ramdisk as well... nothing I can fit on this though...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 01:39 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Here is a thought, considering the relatively cheap cost of ram these days could you not make say a 8GB ramdisk and through something like a virtual xp on it or something? Or even a game of some sort or hell even photoshop or other similar products?
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 01:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i know tehre were ddr2 ones,but ddr3?

but then again....how much ram are you gonna put and the cost vs buying an ssd?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 02:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Problem with ram disks is most of them is software and when you restart the system poof contents are gone. RAM drives are a good idea but you need one that can store the data without losing it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 02:22 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Most come with a battery backup to prevent that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2011, 02:26 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Only the hardware ram disks. The software ones just use a portion of your system ram and make it a mountable drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLEASE HELP - USB transfer rate very SLOW !!!!! torque.vortex CPU's and Motherboards 7 June 30, 2010 08:40 AM
What can hinder burst rate? somecanadianguy Storage 31 November 29, 2009 06:07 PM
refresh rate question tcos HTPC Systems & Software 11 July 2, 2009 11:50 PM